July Next Big Thing Blog Hop

nbtbhThank you to Celia Breslin for tagging me in to the Next Big Thing Blog Hop. Check out her gorgeous website HERE  featuring original artwork in the header and her new release Haven, my current read. Here are my questions and answers about my new contemporary military romance, Search & Rescue, for the blog hop.
 
 
1: What is the working title of your book(s)?

Search & Rescue

2: Where did the idea come from for the book?

The story just popped in my head demanding to be written while I was in the middle of NaNoWri Mo. Never did finish that story.

3: What genre does your book come under?

Search & Rescue is a contemporary military romance.

4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

The hero is an almost-thirty, battle hardened Army Ranger – maybe Chris Hemsworth from the Avengers.  The heroine – Kirsten Dunst. I’m not very good with this.

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

After escaping captivity in Afghanistan, Army Ranger Captain Taylor Jackson carries out a frantic search and rescue for his missing fiancée, Lexie Carter.

6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

Search & Rescue was recently published by Secret Cravings Publishing.

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Less than two weeks. Didn’t need to do any plotting, they story was already there.

8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

None that I know of, but it’s not my usual genre.

 

9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

 

The characters just popped up and I HAD to write the story. I was a nurse in the Army Reserve and was familiar with Army protocols. I set the story in my hometown – Mobile, AL – so there wasn’t a lot of research there.

 

10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

 

The heroine, Lexie Carter, is a wealthy orphan – a college coed – raised by two former Green Berets who are gay which creates some interesting situations between Taylor and the guardians. 

 

I’d like to write a freebie quickie about the aftermath of Search & Rescue and maybe a short on the guardians – they are just too much fun to let go and they certainly have a story to tell.  

 

You can read an excerpt or buy Search & Rescue at Secret Cravings Publishing or Amazon.

 

Now I’m tagging Champagne author Graeme Brown with his edgy paranormal, The Pact HERE.  

 

SignatureJ

2 Responses

  1. Sounds like a wonderful story. All the best with your writing!

Leave a comment