Books Turned Into Movies

Whether you love it or hate it, books being turned into movies is an old tradition and one not going away anytime soon. While some of my favorite movies are from books that I’d read some of the worst movies ever are also. Recently I watched The Hunger Games. Now, I loved the books. The world the author built was unlike most I’d read before and had just enough adult content and science fiction to really hold my interest throughout the entire series. So, I was pretty excited to see the movie out on DVD.

 

With that being said lets talk about a few other books made into movies. The Twilight series for one. I LOVED the books, and I can say I was one of those middle aged women waiting in line to see a teen flick without shame. Then reality hit, I HATED the movies!! They were awful to me, now don’t get mad with me, it’s just my opinion!! But I really did hate them.

Another one was One for the Money. LOVED LOVED LOVED the book but the movie fell a little flat for me. It wasn’t horrible, it just didn’t have it for me.  Pride and Prejudice is of course a favorite book and movie.

But my favorite will always be The Sookie Stackhouse series and True Blood. With that being said I’ll explain why:

The books were written magically, connecting me to the characters and their world. They just pulled me into that world and I loved it. The television show did the same, BUT and this is a big BUT, the writers of the show veered off the books just enough to keep my attention and never truly knowing where the show would go next. The writers gave my imagination a chance to think of new plots, new what ifs, and new ever afters! I love that!

So back to The Hunger Games, I was told this was not a good movie, it was boring. I didn’t find it boring. I found it to be a little flat but because I didn’t feel the writers dived deep enough into the backstory between all the characters. It felt rushed and missing emotion to me.

So with all of my opinions I have to wonder about movies that are scheduled to be produced from books. The next big thing I’ve read about is The Fifty Shades of Grey books being turned into  a movie. Yes, I’ve read them and I can honestly say there is something about them that compels you to read more however as I’ve read like a million books in this genre I can recommend more that are better. And I don’t mean that as a cut on the author but there are hundreds of better books. Yet, she hit the market at the right time and now is all the sensation. So I’m curious to see how Fifty Shades of Grey is made and how I will feel about this movie.

 

What are some movies made from books that you love or hate?

 

Stay safe everyone, so far we still have power and just a tad bit of wind and rain!

Sayde

2 Responses

  1. I was actually just thinking about this recently since I read the entire Millennium trilogy by Stieg Larsson. I’ve been contemplating which Girl with the Dragon Tattoo movie to see, although I’m a bit hesitant since there’s a difference between reading about unpleasant things and actually seeing them happen onscreen.

    Last summer I read Rosemary’s Baby – which is a real page-turner – and I thought, “there’s no way the movie could possibly be as amazing.” Then I saw the movie and, lo and behold, I discovered that the screenplay is extraordinary faithful to the original story and there are a bunch of memorable performances by a who’s-who of acting greats.

    Other terrific book-to-movie adaptations: definitely The Night of the Hunter (an absolute classic) and, yes, the Harry Potter movies. The story I’m probably most critical of regarding adaptations is Jane Eyre, since it’s my favorite novel. I love the 1940s film with Joan Fontaine and Orson Welles (so romantic!), but the version from last year with Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender was really disappointing and unfortunately kind of boring.

  2. I’m usually more a fan of the book. There doesn’t seem to be enough film time to make the movie as awesome as the book. I quite like the tv show Rizzoli and Isles which is based on books. AND I love all things Sherlock Holmes. The new Guy Ritchie movies are a lot of fun but those are straight scripts and not from anything Sir Arthur Conan Doyle wrote. I DID NOT like the Sookie Stackhouse book I read. Sorry. The show, not so much either although I dig the male actors for sure!

Leave a Reply

