The 2012 Silken Sands Self-Published Star Contest Finalists – Single Title Paranormal

This week the Sizzlers at Southern Sizzle Romance are pleased to host the finalists of the 2012 Silken Sands Self-Published Star Contest. Visiting today are the Single Title Paranormal finalists – Christiana Miller, Michelle Beattie, Janet Breakfield. Read their short excerpts, click on the book covers to read more, then hit that Buy Button. 

TUESDAY – SINGLE TITLE PARANORMAL

Somebody Tell Aunt Tillie She’s Dead by Christiana Miller

 

At the beginning of this whole, surreal journey, I had no idea you could be evicted from your body as easily as you could be booted out of your apartment. Easier, actually, since there’s none of those pesky laws in place to protect you. But it all started out so innocently, with a streak of bad luck.

 One of the problems with being a witch is when you ask the universe a question, it generally gives you an answer. Or just enough of one to ruin a perfectly good week.

But since it was my birthday . . .

And since I was an eternal optimist . . .

And mostly ’cause I was stuck at the longest red light in the history of traffic, with nothing else to do . . .

I dug my tarot deck out of my purse and pulled three cards for the coming year. 

Death.

Three of Swords.

The Tower.

Transformation. Sorrow. Change through destruction. Happy birthday to me.

Damn it. I shouldn’t have looked. You’d think I’d know better by now. Damn tarot cards always suckered me into peeking into my future and I just about always regretted it. Because the hell of it was . . .

They were usually right.

Visit Christiana at www.christianamiller.com

 

LOVE BY ACCIDENT by Michelle Beattie

“So, who got your job?  Anyone I know?”

Before Ted could answer a deep voice spoke from behind her.  “Yeah, me.”

Lauren’s stomach jumped up her throat as she recognized the voice.  Oh my God, it was Matt! Part of her wanted to fly into his arms and tell him how much she’d missed him but the other part of her knew she’d forfeited the right four years ago.

Steeling herself, she turned in her chair.  Instead of looking into his eyes, she had to scale her gaze up his long legs to his face. She looked about but there were no crutches, no braces or wheelchair nearby. He could walk!

Matt’s mouth was a tight line.  “Lauren.”

Memories slammed into her. She saw Matt crawl into the back seat.  She blinked, but the Matt before her kept shifting into the Matt who had crawled into the car, then the Matt who had lain broken in the hospital bed.

Her throat closed in.  She needed air and time.  Matt wasn’t paralyzed; he was here.  Oh God, he was here! Lauren grabbed her coat and purse from the back of the chair. 

“I have to go,” she managed.   

Matt took a step toward her, his mouth twisting in anger, but Ted grabbed his arm.  Their exchange was lost over the trill of the bells as Lauren yanked open the doors and fled outside. 

Visit Michelle at http://michellebeattie.com

 

BAYOU LEGEND by Janet Breakfield

Out of the corner of my eye, I saw a weapon. Maybe a little unconventional, but definitely deadly.  Coiled up on a cypress stump was a copperhead snake. It was just watching us. Those snakes are infamous for letting you step on them and then they bite. The venom attacks the central nervous system and from what I hear, it isn’t pretty. Definite demobilization, that’s what he needed right now. I fiend another falling event, when instead I grabbed the snake and threw it into Tristan’s face. The snake landed firmly against his face and neck as he fell backward into the water taking the snake with him. He screamed but it was too late. The snake bit him in the left cheek right under his eye.

     The screaming didn’t stop. He finally threw the snake off of him and into a nearby tree trunk. The snake slithered off under the water. I didn’t wait, I hauled major ass away from Tristan. It was a case of “feet take care of body”.  I did have the advantage here. I knew my way around bayou lands and I knew he didn’t. He was following me; I could hear him sloshing in the water behind me. My heart was beating like I had just run a marathon. I didn’t like being chased, even as a child. The stumps were scraping my legs and arms, but I didn’t slow down. I wouldn’t be like those stupid women on movies that fall down when someone is trying to kill them. To hell with that.

Visit Janet at janetbreakfield.com  

Tomorrow, the Novella Finalists  RB

12 Responses

  1. Congratulations, Christiana, Janet, and Michelle! LOVE these excerpts. 🙂

  2. Thank you, Jamie.

    And congrats and good luck to Janet and Christiana! I’m in good company.

    • I second that — congratulations to all of us! And thank you, Michelle. I’m so honored to be included as one of the three finalists. And I’m looking forward to reading everyone’s books! The excerpts are fabulous.

  3. I’d like to add my congrats to all of the finalists in the Siken Sands Star Contest. I’ve read some great stories from the finalists. Will certainly buy some. Rita Bay

  4. Wishing everyone good luck in their categories!

    And Rita, you did an excellent job of presenting everyone! I want one of every excerpt I’ve read! lol My TBR list is longer than ever now!

  5. I’ll second that. Rita did an excellent job of showcasing us! Thanks Runere for pointing that out!

    • Thanks so much RUnere and Michelle. I’m doing a class on effective blogging at Silken Sands and I’ve learned three new skills putting this together that I will pass on. Thanks so much for supporting our contests. Rita Bay

    • I’ll third that! Thank you so much, Rita! I know how much work something like this takes. And I really appreciate all the time and effort you put into it! ❤

      • Thank you, Christiana. The Sizzlers are happy to support our RWA Chapter and the SIlken Sands Star Contest finalists. I’m looking forward to meeting some of the finalists at the Silken Sands Conference next month. As for the work, I finished all the posts yesterday and, so far. everything works. I’ll get out a report at the end of the week. We are getting visits to author websites and buy link sites. Rita

Leave a Reply

