Silken Sands Self-Published Star Contest Finalists!

I’m currently sitting here pondering which manuscript to pitch at Silken Sands Writers Conference. It’s coming up very soon and I (*dither, dither, dither*) need to make up my mind.
And I’m throwing it out there that there are still some respectable places on the pitch roster available. Not many, but a few. So if you feel your project is ready (or can be readied!) to present to an acquiring editor or agent by March 16-18th, I urge you to hurry and register to save your spot! http://gccrwa.com/silkensands

I still need a little help deciding. I love the Paranormal venue. It’s my deepest love. I have more MSS with Paranormal aspects. But I also write contemporary. Those come so easily they scare me. Anything that quick and easy has to be wrong, right? But then maybe they flow due to the articles I’ve written as a magazine staff writer. I loved taking a current event and throwing a fun or funny spin on it. Contemporary seems to be an extension of that, so maybe I’m just more at home with it. Frustrated sigh. *kicks rocks*

So what am I going to do? I’m going to . . .
. . . take this opportunity to tell you about a few authors who don’t presently have that dilemma!

Glad to say the finalists in the Silken Sands Self-Published Star Contest have been announced. Congratulations to eighteen great ladies in six categories of Romance! I mention them here because I’m so proud of every one of them.  Read more about the contest and the entry and judging procedure here:  http://gccrwa.com/starcontest

 

 

2012 Silken Sands Self-Published Star Contest Finalists

Short Story:
Gaea’s Chosen: The Mayday Directive by Cara Michaels
New Money & Old Trouble by Jane Carver
Dragon In The Mist by Nancy Lee Badger

Novella:
All’s Fair In Love & Seduction by Beverley Kendall
Loving or Nothing by Cara Marsi
Deceive Her With Desire by Nina Pierce

Single Title Contemporary:
Wife by Wednesday by Catherine Bybee
For the Love of a Woman by Christina James
Hardball by V.K. Sykes

Single Title Paranormal:
Bayou Legend by Janet Breakfield
Somebody Tell Aunt Tillie She’s Dead by Christiana Miller
Love by Accident by Michelle Beattie

Single Title Historical:
This Heart For Hire by Elysa Hendricks
Another Chance by Michelle Beattie
Her Secondhand Groom by Rose Gordon

Young Adult:
Pride’s Run by Catherine Verge
Freaks of Greenfield High by Maree Anderson
The Boyfriend Thief by Shanna Norris

Winners will be announced at the Silken Sands Writers’ Conference in Pensacola, Florida, on March 17, 2012.

My Sizzler Sisters and I will be presenting these authors a bit more in depth, and providing web site and buy links for their entries. So be sure to check in often, and look for more fun ahead!

My final suggestion for today is one made by another member of our writing chapter, Jamie, and it’s a good one indeed.

If you’ve never read a Romance eBook, this list of authors is a great place to start!

Good writing, everyone! See you at the beach at Silken Sands!
~Runere~

Visit Runere at http://www.RunereMcLain.com    Friend her on FB @ Runere McLain    Follow her on Twitter@RunereMcLain

6 Responses

  1. What a wonderful dilemma… To be so prolific you can’t decide which story to pitch! I am setting a personal goal to be just like you. LOL. Of course with the million word challenge our chapter has going on I should make a little progress this year right? Great post and it’s good to see the list of finalists. There were so many great entries this year!

    • Absolutely great entries indeed, Joan!

      And like me?!? LOL Woman, congrats on your release! Folks, if you want a delicious read, I definately recommend Joan’s book! PERFECTLY IMPERFECT, by Joan Chandler!

      Silken Sands promises so much this year. Going to love announcing the winners!

      • How did I miss your comment??? Thank you so much for the kind recommendation, and my apologies for being more than a month late in seeing this! I regularly visit this site, but often when I look from my iPhone I only see the articles and not the comments. Still a thrill to get positive feedback!! Thanks, Runere!

  2. Sire you’ll make the right choice. Havn’t read your contemporaries but love your paranormals. Want to add the my congrats to the finalists. I’ll send out the letter as soon as the Sizzlers check it out and we set up the schedule. Rita Bay

    • Thanks, Rita! (Another great author — Rita Bay! Just contracted the second book in your series, didn’t you? Check out her website for a list of her books! RitaBay.com)

      These ladies certainly deserve congratulations, and yours is added and appreciated.

      Remember, everyone; we’re going to be presenting these contest authors here on Southern Sizzle!

  3. pitch them all, baby!!

Leave a Reply

