Wish you were here…Scotland

Photo by Tom Gardner...sheep grazing

For today’s return to our journeys, I am sorry it will be rather short and sweet. I have a story to finish editing for the Golden Heart Contest.                                   

Beautiful photo of landscape by Helen Morton

 

I chose Scotland for the topic in honor of a Christmas tale I wrote a few years ago for my sister as sort of a Christmas gift. First let me say thankfully she was never involved in an accident that made her blind, nor does she live on a large farm in Scotland. That was just the way the story came to me at the time. She does, however, have her very own protective “elf” in her husband Shane.

Snow covered farm in Inverness-inspiration for the farm in the story

 

A moonlit night -Photo also by Tom Gardner

I also took some creative license with “Oskoreidi” and his legend. I called upon an ancient pagan belief practically forgotten after Christianity took over. Before Christmas, the pagans or heathens celebrated this time of year around the Winter Solstice. There is a blurry line separating the customs of Yule as it was known at the time around Celtic lands and Christmas traditions that replaced it.

 

There is a yule custom which involves this Rowan tree. What is it?

Many cultures view “Oskoreidi” also known as Odin”, :Oski” or Yule Elf” as stern or terrifying, carrying off rude or ill-will persons. However I used his persona as the bringer of blessings, fulfiller of desires and granter of wishes to those who were courteous or clever.   

 

The lights of the city of Dundee in Eastern Scotland

So I know this is an early Christmas post, but I do it in celebration of the release of the book Christmas Angelsfrom Whortleberry Press. http://whortleberrypress.com/  It’s a pleasure to share the honor of having a short story  published with a fellow Southern Sizzle Romance blogger. Since she seems to have a magical gift of her own for writing wonderful short stories, I feel a great sense of accomplishment to have one good enough to be included with hers.

Edinburgh at Christmas- credit to Helen Morton for a wonderful eye with the photo

 

So until next time, like the character Wendy in a Magical Christmas Vision, I hope you enjoy these beautiful scenes from Scotland.

4 Responses

  1. Oh, Liz, how wonderful! The news about your story being published and the post! Something told me to come check on the Sizzlers today, and I almost started crying when I saw Wish You Were Here . . . Scotland titling the page! Been missing you here more than you know!

    Congratulations on the publication! So thrilled and proud of you! Of course that means I’ll be looking for more of both!

    Love ya, Sister Sizzler!

    • Thanks. The past few weeks have been good to me. I found out yesterday (at the meeting no less) that one of my stories finaled in the Windy City RWA contest.

      Hopefully I can keep up the roll.

      Elizabeth

  2. Hey, Liz. Glad you’re back. Missed my weekly vicarious vacation. Congrats on publication. So very happy for you. Rita Bay

  3. Love this post. I’m a huge Anglophile and am thrilled you chose this awesome place as your comeback post, Elizabeth! Great pics and inspiration

Leave a Reply

