Moonday’s Heroic Hunks in History: The Prisoners

The Prisoner

The Accademia di Belle Arti’s collection of Michelangelo’s work includes his four unfinished Prisoners, intended for the tomb of Pope Julius II.  Although photography was forbidden in the museum in Florence, the pictures are  now in the public domain.  The  sculptures are examples of Michelangelo’s claim that sculptures already exist in the stone and that the role of the sculptor is to free them.  One of a set of  Michelangelo’s “Slaves” will be featured next week.  Rita Bay

4 Responses

  1. This is a great example of that. Who was it that said he looks at the marble and cuts away what’s not the figure? I’m majorly paraphrasing here.

    • Hey, Jillian. He did, I believe. The man was neither humble nor self-deprecating–Guess you don’t have to be when you’re a genius. He was doing some of these sculptures in his 20s. RB

  2. Sorry I’m late, Rita! Satellite + weather= Arrrrgh!!

    These posts are so informative, and the subjects are awe inspiring. Can’t wait to see what comes next!

    • Hey, Runere. I can’t blame the satelite but this damn new rocket drive is AWFUL. It dumps me off the internet, then freezes and I can’t get off the internet or do anything. Sometimes I have to post two or three times to get it right. Sometimes I damn my itinerant ways that make it necessary.
      Anyway, thanks so much. I think my daily blog on Western history and culture is more informative but this one is fun to do. I can be a little more risque. Next week, one of the Slaves I’m featuring is too risque (looks like bondage to me) so I’ll do the less risque one here and post the other elsewhere. HA! Rita Bay

Leave a Reply

