Wetsday Paranormal Smackdown

In honor of the upcoming premiere of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II, the DDs and I have been re-watching the entire series. Now, they are truly great movies, and if you haven’t started at the beginning and watched all of them, I strongly urge you to do so,

But in watching HP4: The Goblet of Fire, I realized something very important: Rob Pattinson was much hotter as a living wizard than as a vampire. Check out this picture of R-Pattz as Cedrick Diggory, the Great Hufflepuff Hope.

20110713-093541.jpg

And thinking about R-Pattz got me into a conversation about the Twilight Series with some of my peeps Saturday, as we were driving home from the Gulf Coast RWA meeting. Now, let me preface this by saying that I, unlike many of you, really like the Stephenie Meyer books. Yes, her prose is a bright shade of purple, and she never met an adverb she didn’t like. But the people who sneer at her writing (I’m looking at you, Stephen King!) have to admit that she created characters who hit a serious nerve in the (mostly female) reading population. God knows, I’d give my eyeteeth to create a character people care about the way they love Edward and Bella.

But I have a fundamental problem with Twilight, one that didn’t really become clear until the fourth book. So if you are one of the ten or twelve people I know who haven’t read the books, SPOILER ALERT!!!!!

See, vampires, whether they sparkle or not, whether they drink animal or human blood, even if they have artfully tousled hair and a cool car, are dead. D-E-A-D. As in, not alive. At the end of the day, what you have in Twilight is a bunch of dead teenagers. Not exactly romantic, when you think about it.

And if Bella decides to go for a living guy instead, what’s her option? Well, the leading contender is a werewolf. Yes, a guy who unexpectedly gets all furry and feral. And you thought your prom date had issues!

So, in my humble opinion, the whole Twilight series comes down to this elevator pitch: A teenage girl faces the eternal dilemma — necrophilia or bestiality?

Seriously, can’t you just imagine the response that kind of pitch would get?

Now, I will tell you that, when I read the books, I was Team Edward all the way. Remember that Ms. Meyer used a picture of dear Henry Cavill (of The Tudors) as her inspiration for him, so what’s not to like? But in the movies, as striking as R-Pattz is, I think he was totally Eclipsed (pardon the pun) by Taylor Lautner as Jacob.

So here, today on the Sizzle, we have your chance to weigh in on the controversy.

20110713-093745.jpg
Necrophilia?

20110713-093756.jpg
Bestiality?

What’s your choice?
Rob Pattinson or Taylor Lautner?
And why?

4 Responses

  1. Um…Jacob. I think the pictures say it all. πŸ™‚

  2. Jacob. I like ‘natural’ things, and you can’t get much closer to nature than with a wolf! lol

    And like Rebecca said . . . pictures. They don’t lie.

    Woof! Woof! (Drool! Oops! ‘Scuse me!)

  3. I’m telling you, like I said on Saturday, she totally pitched it like that. I’m sure of that.

  4. Ditto to Jillian. She was like, “Hey, here’s high concept that hasn’t been done before.”. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

