Badurday- July 2, 2011- Guest Stephanie Burkhart

20110702-114145.jpg

Today, we have Stephanie Burkhart as our guest talking about her steam punk release.

20110702-114916.jpg

JILLIAN: I’d like to welcome author Stephanie Burkhart to the blog today. Stephanie’s latest release is “Victorian Scoundrel,” a steampunk romance. So, Stephanie, what is a steampunk romance?

STEPH: Here’s my recipe: take a dash of steam, a pinch of the Victorian age, and healthy sprinkle of romance and you’ve got a steampunk romance.

As the term implies, the story is generally set in the early industrial period where steam power is more widely known, such as early Victorian England, but it adds a second element such as a science fiction, speculative fiction, fantasy or paranormal twist. Adding to the complexity of the “steam” is that the story usually takes place in an alternate time, or parallel universe. My best example is the movie Sherlock Holmes with Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law.

JILLIAN: What motivated you to write Victorian Scoundrel?

STEPH: Gail Delaney, Editor-in-Chief, at Desert Breeze put out a call for steampunk romances. I said, “why not?” It’s a genre that many find interesting so I decided to tackle it.

JILLIAN: What was the inspiration behind the plot?

STEPH: I wanted a more “traditional” steampunk so I started combing through the Victorian age and discovered the Great Exhibition. Prince Albert was a driving force for the Exhibition and I knew I wanted to center the plot around those two elements. Then I threw in a dirigible, a transmogrifier, and some whuzzies.

JILLIAN: So why is this series called “The Windsor Diaries?”

STEPH: I found real life inspiration for Alice & Edmund Windsor in Prince Harry and Her Royal Highness, Princess Beatrice of York. My character, Edmund Windsor, loves to make mischief and because of that, has a habit of making his own messes. Alice Windsor adores her cousin, Edmund, and it’s usually Alice who gets Edmund out of the messes he makes. Hence, “The Windsor Diaries.”

JILLIAN: How long did it take you to write?

STEPH: About 3 months, including my research and preliminary work.

JILLIAN: What’s your writing space like?

STEPH: It’s in the middle of the dining room. I’ve basically taken over the dinning room table. The mess is organized into piles.

JILLIAN: I know you like to cast your characters. Who plays Alice & Edmund?

STEPH: I picture Mena Survari as Alice and Robert Pattinson as Edmund.

JILLIAN: Why do you cast your characters?

STEPH: It’s part of my preliminary work. It allows me to picture my characters. For me, it gives the character an added dimension in my mind that I use to augment my writing.

JILLIAN: Who’s the Scoundrel? Edmund or Grayson?

STEPH: – wink – I’ll let you decide.

Here’s a link to the Book Teaser: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7IUYj2d7ZeY

Publisher’s Buy Link: http://stores.desertbreezepublishing.com/-strse-183/Stephanie-Burkhart-Victorian-Scoundrel/Detail.bok

BLURB: It’s 2011 and compressed natural gas has taken over from the coal producing steam machines of the Victorian Age. Alice Windsor, Princess of York, follows her mischief-making cousin, Prince Edmund of Wales back to the past and 1851 where Prince Albert is hosting Britain’s Great Exhibition.

20110702-115121.jpg

Alice soon discovers Edmund has struck up a friendship with their great-grandfather, Prince Albert, and his mischief making entails leaving a dinosaur-sized footprint in history. She also meets Grayson Kentfield, Earl Swinton, and the Prime Minister, Sir John Russell. The Prime Minster finds her odd, to say the least.

It’s only when Alice falls for the handsome Earl Swinton does she realize the dangers of time travel. How can she give her heart to a man from the past while striving to stop Edmund from changing time with his forward thinking ideas?

EXCERPT:

Tired and thirsty, she finally made it to the courtyard. Edmund was nowhere to be found. She should have expected it, really. No doubt he was in the palace filling their great-grandfather’s head with forward-thinking ideas. She crossed her arms, staring at the steps. Several carriages waited nearby. No one in their right mind would let her into the palace looking like she did — like she had just stepped out of the gutter.

“Excuse me, who are you?”

Alice spun around to find herself face-to-face with two gentlemen who stood near one of the waiting carriages. One gentleman was older, Alice guessed in his fifties, one younger. The older gentleman stared at her like she truly was a guttersnipe, but the younger one — he was tall, with chiseled cheeks and sensitive hazel eyes. His broad chest filled his suit well and he measured her with a cool, appraising look that hinted at… appreciation. An uncomfortable feeling washed over her. Never had a man’s stare made her feel so… warm.

“Well?” asked the older gentleman.

Alice straightened her posture with her usual royal dignity and took off her glasses as she always did when she introduced herself. “I am Her Royal Highness, Princess Alice of York.”

The men looked at each other, at her, then back at themselves. She wasn’t sure if they were befuddled, confused, or wanted to laugh. Finally, the older gentleman spoke. “Princess Alice is seven years old.”

Alice bit the inside of her lip, realizing she had totally forgotten where she was due to the younger gentleman’s attention. She slid her glasses back on. “Simply call me Alice — Alice Windsor.”

“And you may call me Prime Minister.”

Victorian Scoundrel is available as an Ebook For Sony Ereader, Kindle, Nook, Kobo and various formats for download.

Review from Tia Taylor: Victorian Scoundrel is a clever Steam Punk novel full of Time travel, interesting gadgets, witty dialogue and love scenes that will have the reader reaching for a fan!

Stephanie Burkhart has a fresh, quick, quirky, inventive imagination and she gives the readers of Victorian Scoundrel a delightful mixture of all of the above!

Romance Under the Moonlight

Victorian Scoundrel
Book 1, The Windsor Diaries
Steampunk Romance at it’s finest

Visit me at:
http://sgcardin.blogspot.com
http://www.stephanieburkhart.com

5 Responses

  1. It sounds intriguing. I haven’t read any steampunk but I am thinking I should check it out. Good interview. I really like your idea of “Casting” your characters,

  2. Any funkiness in this post is my fault totally as I have iPad deficiencies. Lol.

  3. Hello Stephanie! Thanks for sharing your talent and insight with us!

    Steampunk is certainly the genre for writers with sparkling imaginations, and it sounds as if you’ve done an excellent job of it! Can’t wait to read VICTORIAN SCOUNDRAL. And I’m particularly excited it will be a trilogy or series! Nothing is worse than finding an author who makes a genre intriguing, and it’s only the one book!

    Good writing!
    ~Runere~

  4. Darlene, if you get a chance, check it out. Steampunk is fun and I really enjoyed writing Alice & Edmund Windsor.

    Jillian, thanks for having me here today and reading the story. ((hugs))

    Runere, steampunk does spark the imagination and I really enjoyed this story. The sequel is due out in NOV 2012. I’m looking forward to continuing Alice & Edmund’s story.

    Smiles
    Steph

Leave a Reply

