Steam Punk Genre

Happy Thursday and wishing you a great holiday weekend. Since I can’t post parts of stories now, I am finding blogging a little difficult. My life is boring, I don’t have fun exciting things happening at home, all the hunky guys has it day, history is taken, so this leave me, flatlined.  So, here is something interesting which has happened in my life recently and I thought maybe this would be fun to write about.  I have discovered STEAM-PUNK through Runere. Thank you for the introduction. What an exciting genre. I love art and in this genre I see it as a wild range of possibilities, and things you can put together like media art. My mind feels like it’s about to burst with ideas, and than I have my darkness, and the combination is endless. I’m at a crossroads where I don’t know what to call myself. (Laughing) I find as a person, we’re always growing, and learning new things. It’s never enough for me I love to learn something new everyday.

It’s sort of like gothic and paranormal, some people really dress like this during the everyday functions. Some would consider them  eccentric’s, and frown upon them. A person of unconventional and slightly strange views or behavior and some would even ridicule them.
It makes my heart pound with adrenaline as a writer. To me, it’s wild and it’s crazy and looks like a great deal of fun. There are websites, blogs, and actual conferences for their obsessiveness need to express themselves. I’m getting all excited just thinking about it. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As a writer- or a day dreamer, what can you do with this in your head. It’s mind boggling. Steampunk is a sub-genre of science fiction,alternate history, and speculative fiction that came into prominence during the 1980’s and early 1990s. Specifically, steampunk involves an era or world where steam power is still widely used—usually the 19th century and often Victorian era Britain—that incorporates prominent elements of either science fiction or fantasy. developed earlier in an alternate history.

One of their weapons of choice is.. a nurf gun. They take a regular toy gun that your children play with, and take it apart, spray paint it and put it back together with other pieces sometimes to give it realistic. Who thought of this? This is wild, and shows such creativity. A Steam punk belly dancer  There is so much out there.. This is just an example.

5 Responses

  1. Coolage, Gothicdweller! Love the photos and video! Imagine, belly dancing to a Victorian Waltz!

    Think you’ve found your niche. It’s a genre that’s always fascinated me because the possiblilites for characters and situations are boundless. Hope you do well with it!

    Good writing!

  2. Well there is so much information with this genre. I think though it’s more than just a genre it’s a way of life for some, and there is even a Steam Punk Con. Like a Coast Con I attended years ago that was more Sci-Fi..

  3. Glad to see you posting again. I enjoy your posts.

  4. Hey girl, Jumping in late–in transit. LOVE the post. Good explantation about steam punk which seems to be really hot. I wish you would share more about your genre. As far as I’m concerned with what you know and your proximity to New Orleans, the dark belongs to you. Tell us about it!! Rita Bay

Leave a Reply

