Badurday- May 21, 2011- Hugh Laurie

I’ve  been a Hugh Laurie fan forever it seems. I first discovered him many, many years ago in a series called Jeeves and Wooster.  This was a series in Britain based on the books by P.G. Wodehouse. I’d read the books as a young girl and when I heard of this show, I had to watch. Hugh played the barmy Wooster and Stephen Fry played the butler, Jeeves.  A very funny show.  He was also in the Blackadder series. A show that was a comedic look at British history. Rowan Atkinson of Mr. Bean fame was the title character and Hugh played several roles, the most memorable being Prinny, the Prince Regent. 

 As the years went on, I saw him in several movies that were great such as Peter’s Friends.  He’s quite a versatile actor and was a member of the Cambridge Players when he was at University. He played in Sense and Sensibility – He showed his droll, dry wit in this role. (He was Imelda Staunton’s husband just as he was in Peter’s Friends). Of course, most of you know him as the curmudgeonly Doctor House from the series, House.  He’s a wonderful example of a bad boy from the beginning when he was the always in trouble of some sort, Wooster to now, as Dr. House.  Here’s a slideshow medley of pictures from his career.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Responses

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE the slideshow. I need to learn that trick. I also love Hugh. Thanks for sharing with me all the things I hadn’t realized I’d seen him in over the years. Peter’s Friends is one of my favorites.

  2. […] Badurday- M&#1072&#1091 21, 2011- Hugh Laurie « Southern Hiss Romance (function(){var […]

Leave a Reply

