A Warning

Hello everyone. There are very few things that scare me, ghosts, roaches, maggots, and snakes. Any one of those are things that will make me run for the hills faster than an olympic runner. Especially snakes. I’m terrified of snakes. In fact I had two little Mountain Fiest dogs that hunted everything. I mean these dogs were killers! Anything that came in our yard that didn’t belong there died! They especially hated snakes!

One of them would grab the snakes tail, jerking it backward. When the snake would pop up to strike the other dog would bite it’s head off. They worked as a team doing this for years. And the one dog that would bite the head off was so funny because once it was dead even if the body was still moving she was done. She knew instantly when it was dead and would walk off very proud. The other one though would continue to drag the snake around until it stopped twitching and then she’d poke it with her nose to make it move some more just so she could attack again. She once followed me around the yard with one in her mouth while I’m running and screaming “No, April. Good dog but no I don’t want it!!” She was very confused to why I didn’t want her latest kill while the other one would lay there and just kinda look at us like “Dummies!”.

But like everything, these little dogs have gotten older. They no longer chase the rabbits and barely glance at them when they hop by. We’ve been thinking that this summer would be their last if they tried to kill a snake because they just weren’t as fast anymore. Well it happened yesterday. Out by the garbage cans by my parents house they dove into the woodline barking like crazy. We instantly knew that bark and my dad went running for his gun. He was too late. By the time he got there the one who bites the snakes heads off had been struck right above her right eye.

Within thirty minutes of the bite I had her at the vets office. Within the hour she passed away. Because of the extreme dry weather we have had lately snakes are searching out water. They do not care where it is, whether in a pond, mud puddle, or your dogs water. Please be careful everyone. I’m devistated that my little dog is dead but I believe that by finding that snake she saved one of our lives. Yes, we killed the snake. It was a ten button rattle snake with fangs that looked like large nails. Be very aware everyone!

Sayde

16 Responses

  1. Ohhh Sayde, I’m so sorry to hear about your little doggie. I am a huge DOG lover, and to hear how heroic she’s been all of her life, she died as she lived, a HERO. I know this doesn’t bring you joy, but it has to some where make you smile. For she was trying to protect the ones she loves.. your family. Be careful out there in the boonies.. we love u, if you need to chat text me.. sister hugss… my friend..always here for you.

  2. I feel so sad for you! I lived in Texas and those dang rattle snakes were terrible. My thoughts are with you.
    Dana

  3. Sorry about your dog, Cowgirl. I’m sure the other half of the pair is devastated, as you are. Unfortunately, until we get rain the snakes will keep on coming. We’ve had more than our share at our pond. Since it’s fed by an artesian spring it doesn’t dry up like other ponds around here; nice it doesn’t dry up, not so nice since it attracts ALL the snakes in the area. We patrol with a gun before the grandkids are allowed to fish, and our Blue Heeler stays with them. Winter -man will definityly let you know when something doesn’t belong!

    Remember the good times with her, lady, and the protection she offered. And again, I hate you lost your friend, because long-term pets are our friends.

  4. sorry to hear about your dog. That’s sad and I know you are heartbroken. Take care.

    • THanks lady! Now I just have to figure out what to do for the dogs sister. She’s really heartbroken. Keeps going tothe grave and walking around it!

  5. So sorry to hear about your precious little dog. They aren’t pets, they are family.

  6. Ohh Sayde, I am so sorry to hear about your dog. Sending hugs and comforting wishes to you and your family.

  7. Sayde, how sad. Losing a pet is so hard. I’m sending you a long-distance hug.

  8. So sorry about your dog. What a good girl to have protected your family for so long. I know she’s missed.

  9. Sorry to hear about your dog, we’ve just lost ours to old age but it still hurts lots. I shuddered when I read about the snakes and thanked heaven there aren’t any snakes in New Zealand.

Leave a Reply

