A “WTF Happened?” Wetsday

I’m in a rather melancholy mood today. Don’t know why, but I’ve been musing about lost loves, wasted opportunities, and regrets. Sometimes, you know, it is enjoyable to give into depression and wallow in your pity-party, telling yourself how different things could have been, if only . . .

And kids, today’s guest embodies that whole philosophy. This is a guy who had it all — looks, wealth, talent, loving family — everything we think will make us happy. And yet, something went horribly wrong, and now he is more pathetic than anything else.

But lets go back to the halcyon days of our youth, back to the early-to-mid-Eighties, when our boy was the hawt-est thing in shoe leather. He was gorgeous beyond belief, and I was not the only Alpha Xi who had his picture on my dorm wall. He was sweet and humble, telling interviewers how fortunate he was and that he realized he had hit the big time too easily. He wasn’t just a little hot — he was People’s inaugural “World’s Sexiest Man” in 1985. And there was his lovely wife and his growing brood of children right there beside him. Small wonder that he was the love of my young life.

Yes, he’s crazy now. And disgusting. And an anti-Semite, a wife-beater, a drunk, etc. I know that, and I, like the rest of you, have rejected him. Like pina coladas, platform shoes, disco music and the other things that weren’t good for me in the long term, I have cut him out of my heart. But sometimes, when I am in this remembrance-of-times-past mood, I think of my darling Mel and what could have been, if only he had stayed sane . . . .

Okay, yeah, so this is how that love affair ended.

But it wasn’t like that in the beginning . . .

7 Responses

  1. I hate how the heartthrobs of the 80s have all been having meltdowns. Between Mel and Charlie Sheen, is nobody safe? It makes it hard to go back and watch the movies I used to love.

  2. See, When I started reading this, I thought you were gonna talk about Charlie Sheen and I was thinking “what the freak is wrong with my friend?” and then you redeemed yourself! LOL! Yes, Mel is a tragedy. Sad really – his butt in that movie with Goldie was a sight to behold.

  3. As they say there’s a fine line between genius and insanity. Mel unfortunately walked that line until he couldn’t anymore. Poor man.

  4. Really hate he took a header off the reality train. I adored his early films. Sigh. So I guess we just study the new faces coming up, and try to find another cinematic god to follow. (And with some of what I’ve seen lately, I have no problem volunteering for extra credit work! lol)

  5. Charlie Sheen? Perish the thought! Although he was quite the cutie as the delinquent in “Ferris Bueller”. He went crazy and Jennifer Gray had a bad nose job. The 80s were hard on all of us.

  6. This is so sad. So many who have so much can’t handle it. I hope each of these heart throbs turned disturbed, get the help they need.

  7. I’m a little late jumping on this train, but I must add in my love gone crazy…Tom Cruise. Give me those Top Gun/Days of Thunder/Mission Impossible days! While I was crushed when he married Nicole Kidman, I admit to feeling a bit sad when they divorced.

    But there’s still hope for our 80’s heartthrobs! You only need to shift your focus from the movies to the music world. Ladies, I give you….JON BON JOVI!

Leave a Reply

