Dealing with Disappointments as an Author

Dealing with Disappointments as an Author

Every day in real life we are all faced with some sort of disappointment or challenge. In our writing lives this isn’t much different. Sometimes we hit the send button on a query letter thinking this is it, this query will be the one. Only a few days later disappointment fills us. I wish I could say that disappointment ends once you get that contract we all strive to get as writers.

As a reader I never imagined that writers go through so many ups and downs with bottomless pits filled with disappointment. But now, I have to say those damn pits suck!

Once I got my contract for my first novella I wondered if I’d be done dealing with the ups and downs and everything in between.  What I’ve found is that the bar of expectations is raised and now disappointments feel harsher.

On a whole I enjoy the writing process but there are times that I wonder what publishers are thinking. Sometimes it feels like you’re a cow being prodded through the chutes to slaughter. Right now everywhere I turn there seems to be a lot of negatives out there about the writing industry. I know for me, that I’m not as happy as I once was with the editing process and having no options at all when it comes to covers. From what I hear through the grapevine I’m not the only writer feeling this way.

Dealing with these feelings is so hard. I want to rant and rave about everything I’ve heard and seen lately but that’s not the thing to do. Even though we are mostly all grownups in the writing industry feelings get hurt easily. Words can be said in the heat of an argument that you can’t take back and then you may be “labeled” for the rest of your writing career.

Whenever I’m feeling disappointed and angry about writing I put those emotions into my characters. Maybe there is something that they are discontented about, maybe they can rant and rave for me.  So today while I’m writing I will be releasing pent up frustration and hopefully letting my characters grow.

How do you deal with the disappointments in writing or life?

Thanks all

Sayde

10 Responses

  1. I try to look forward at the next project, hoping it’ll be better. Unfortunately, there are some things you can’t change and instead of getting myself worked up over those things, I try to concentrate on what I have some control over. It makes it easier to avoid an ulcer that way 🙂

    *big hug* Sorry about your disappointments, but the highs are very high when you hit them. That’s something to look forward to!

  2. SaydeGrace, you are the most persistent person in the face of disappointment I’ve met. You are building a career and, while it may not be something you have a lot of control over, you are way ahead of me. RitaBay

  3. Think my biggest disappointment was a submission that got the response “This is extremely well written and I couldn’t put it down, but I’m going to have to pass on this project at this time.”

    It wasn’t the lack of offer; I’m a newbie just testing the waters and didn’t expect an immediate one. I sought guidance as to any missing qualifiers. I was like “C’mon! Just give me a hint! Please! How do I know which part is broken if you won’t tell me?” Even the ‘would welcome other submissions’ was difficult to interpret. Did she mean in the same vein? Totally different genre but with the same quality writing? Length? What?!?

    After a rejection I usually read up on current technical issues, and see if they apply to my MS. Then I go torment the characters in my current WIP to vent my frustrations. LOL

  4. I feel your pain and the helplessness- It’s funny- we get that contract and think all is well with the world and then other things come in and it’s like “WTH?” So, hang in there, sister and we’ll just commiserate quietly in the background together!!

  5. Sayde!

    Chin up. I’ve heard this from numerous other authors as well, and while it sucks, you’re one of the most positive people I follow. (Betcha didn’t know you had a stalker. 🙂 )

    Keep on keepin on. The tides of change have been happening for a long time in this industry. Things WILL get better and you’ll be glad you handled yourself with such grace.

    • LOl I had no idea I had a stalker but as long as it’s just you I’m loving it 🙂 And you know whats funny, everyone always says I’m a positive person and I’m thinking I’m one of the most negative people ever. I’ll be hanging in the background with Jillian until things take a change.

      thanks for the encouragement !!

Leave a Reply

