Moonday: Rita’s Madness

I always write my blogs in Word then post onto Worpress.  Today, however, I must depart from my plodding plotting and become a pantster.  First, I must apologize to Don McNair for losing his post that was scheduled for today.  It will be up next Moonday with the Intro that I’d already written, if he will graciously resend it. 

Remains of Dining Room

I’d like to share a chunk of my life with you – say about the last two months.  Husband was scheduled for hip surgery that never should have happened–he’s just too healthy. Daughter, however, put those plans on hold when she tore an ACL playing flag football and required knee surgery.   I had to redo part of the  basement so she would have a stariless place to recover.  Surgery done and PT progressing well, Mama and I  went south fo  husband’s surgery which went really well except for him being a lousy patient – again, he’s just too healthy.  Christmas Eve I was summoned north by an almost hysterical daughter.  Living room, dining room, and two rooms in the basement were flooded from a broken connector in the master bath.  Ceilings had fallen onto floor and family antiques.  Freaked about but grateful for insurance and great insurance company.    See pics of wiped out house.

Living & Dining Rooms

Basement decorated in NOV

After house was livable (meaning plumbing and heating  functioning) headed back south with Mama in tow  to check on husband before the workmen started the repairs this Wednesday.  But you know what they say about best-laid plans.  Snow and ice storms were slated for Monday, so Mama and partially-consumed fruitcake that has taveled 1400 miles in the last month headed north.  We beat the storm and should have started getting ready for the contractor.  Sometimes, however,  you just can’t do what you should.  I can’t share my pot of chili with you but at least you can check out my snowman decked with a coastal flair. 

King Neptune

 Til next Moonday, Laisser les bons temps rouler.  Rita Bay   PS Power just went out, so I’m posting without editing.

8 Responses

  1. And you are the glue holding everything together!

    Love your snowman! He looks a little tchaque! lol

    Bon chance, ma femme avec votre maison! Soigez vous-autres! (Good luck with your house and take care)

    Thinking of you, Rita! Hug Mama for me!

    • THanks, Runere. The last two months have been unbelievable. Nothing like this has ever happened to my family. Confident that 2011 will be MUCH better. RitaVF

  2. Love the Mardi Gras man!!! missed ya earlier today!

    • Thanks, Jillian. It’s over the top but well-intended–and the only one on the block. He’ll be our guest for some time since the temp won’t reach melting point until the weekend. Possibility of more snow on THursday. So much for global warming. R

  3. Thanks, Jillian. It’s over the top but well-intended–and the only one on the block. He’ll be our guest for some time since the temp won’t reach melting point until the weekend. Possibility of more snow on THursday. So much for global warming. R

  4. SOOOO sorry about the flood. ‘Ain’t’ families fun. And, I certainly understand about the husband patient. I’ve decided no man, however well intentioned, ever makes a good patient. I’ll say a few prayers for you, ’cause it looks like you need ’em. And, love the southern snowman. However…. I never did much like snow. Ever… Reminds me of one of our 18inches of white stuff.

    • Thank you, Allison. Having lived in upstate NY, I appreciate the occasional snow but I’ve never seen one like this. It iced over so quickly, there’s a crust of ice over powder. Makes for rough driving, so we’ve stayed inside. R

  5. Mardi Gras snowman!?!?!?

    We do still live in the South right?

Leave a Reply

