Reopening for The New Year

Ok, so I’m not reopening because I actually want to. Nope, I’m sick and I have a billion things I need to do here at my house. I’m reopening because I got my edits for my urban fantasy that I sold to Siren Publishing. It never fails to amaze me the things that editors catch or want to change. I’m a little scared this time because there are some things that my editor wants to change about “me” and I’m not totally on board yet. I just read through the suggestions and edits which means I’m still digesting.

This brings me to a point that I believe every writer, either beginner or best seller, should remember. No matter how many times you are published it never guarantees a sale with NO EDITS. Well, maybe if your Nora Roberts but I imagine even she gets edits from her editor. But honestly it never gets easier to see a manuscript that you’ve sold and you think the editor loves, come back to you with edits that make your ms look like a Christmas tree. And it also brings up another point, all publishing houses are different.

At one of my publishers(ok so I only have two but still I can say this now 🙂 ) I’m sent my ms back to fix any grammar errors. Once those are done I am sent plot problems. Once those are finished I’m sent a copy of it in publication form. That copy is one that I go through and make sure everything is exactly like I want it. Then once I send that back I’m done and we just wait for a publication date.

My new publisher sent me all of the above in one document! WOW, seriously different and today I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed. I had to laugh though as one of the comments that I read so far was that I should use more contractions 🙂 I think Jillian will get a huge kick out of that one! Besides that there are a lot of little stuff. Stuff that I am going, how the hell did these people read this and actually like it? And I got a comment that has me scratching my head and once the CP is not dizzy sick, Rebecca will be getting a headache from trying to figure it out too.

There you have it, I’m back open today and I’m a little freaked out. But hey, I’m lucky to be published and luckier to have another book on its way to publication so I’ll stop fussing.

And to follow a little of Danica Avet’s blog today I’d like to tell you all that I too am so very grateful of another year in the company of such outstanding writers and even better friends. Thank you to all my southern sizzle ladies, my terrific critique partner, Rebecca Zanetti, who is going to be busy busy this year with her own best-selling books as well as critiquing more of my junk, to all the ladies at Gulf Coast Chapter of RWA who inspire me to try writing in every genre out there in hopes that I can as good as they are, and to Danica Avet for being such a wonderful person who helped me at Nationals when things back home took a bad turn while I was gone  and also to my readers who have blessed me with sell after sell and I’m indebted to you all for your kindness. There are so many other people to thank for being there for me but I’ve rambled on and need to stop. Thank you all, and may your upcoming year be better and blessed 🙂

 And HAPPPY HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY to JILLIAN CHANTAL!!!

Thanks so much

Sayde Grace

5 Responses

  1. Happy New Year, Sayde! May 2011 be even better. 🙂

  2. Happy New Year, Sayde! Thanks for the shout out 🙂

    You have me wondering how my edits are going to come back and I’m inwardly cringing!! But it’s still exciting, so oh well LOL

  3. Happy New Year, Sayde Grace! This year has been good, and here’s to 2011being better!

    I’ll say it again: Kick ’em, Cowgirl! lol

  4. I LOVE IT!!! I’ll never forget you saying to me in that sassy voice of yours, “contractions, lady, contractions” LOL!! I STILL have to work on that and always catch more each run through. Too funny that you need some.

    Thanks, too, for the awesome for the b’day wishes. Love ya! Jillian

  5. LOL – there is one mega-best-selling author who I can hardly read anymore because he has apparently gotten too big — not for his britches — but for his editor. Reading his recent novels reminds me of Michael Jackson’s plastic surgery: no matter how rich and famous you are, you need someone who will tell you “no”. So make those edits with pride.
    And BTW, you have me really terrified because I am waiting to receive my first ever edits from my publisher any day now. Tres anxiety!!!

Leave a Reply

