Closed for the Holidays

All right, so I’m not a scorge or anything, in fact I love Christmas but I hate it when places close early for the holidays. Mainly I hate it that agents, editors, and publishing houses close like a week in advance for the holiday season. Hey! I’m still writing here and waiting! All right, so I understand that they don’t want to start new material before they are closed for a few days. But this brings up a point to me. What is the proper amount of time to wait to her from a publisher?

At our monthly GCCRWA meeting this subject was brought up by a young lady who was waiting to hear back from an editor that she pitched to in March. Now, I pitched to the same editor and sent my material right then to her. I heard back from her on a short story in mid September. Two days ago I received an email from the same editor apologizing for her delay in getting my material back to me. I was like “What are you talking about?” turns out I’d sent her another story in September and she was sending me a “please submit more material but we pass on this ms.” rejection. So for this editor the first time frame from submission to rejection was about five months. The second time was about three months. I like how her time frame is going down.

And just this past week I received a letter in the mail from an agent that I’ve queried many, many, many times. I hadn’t remembered I’d sent her anything either. Which I had sent her the partial back in August. She apologized for the delay, saying that it had gotten lost on her desk. I’ve seen the work load this agent has and completely understand. Again this was a rejection but the personal hand written note was very appreciated. Her time frame:about four months.

Now for another editor, I sent a story to one editor after nationals in July. I emailed said editor to ask if she would like the partial via email or mail. This editor is in Canada so I figured she’d want to do email. NOPE. And she warned me that with taking over her new position that she was swamped and I wouldn’t hear back from her until December. Thats six months! Oh well. But its December and they are closed for the holidays and still no word from her.

I hate emailing agents and editors to ask if they’ve read my material yet. I feel like its tacky and makes me look needy. But at the same time if their website says that an author will hear back from them in three months shouldn’t I go with that and expect them to also? I just don’t know. What would you do? Would you begin emailing away at three months or let it ride and see when you receive answers?

Ok, enough scorgey talk lets get to Holiday Giveaway Part 3!

On Rachel Firasek’s blog http://www.rachelfirasek.com/ author Daryn Cross is giving away a free ebook.

Author J Rose has model Jason Aaron Baca on her site, no giveaway but its a model and a playgirl guy!!! http://jroseallister.blogspot.com/2010/12/interview-with-cover-model-jason-aaron.html

Author Terry Spear’s is at star-Crossed Romance today giving away two copies of her new book Wolf Fever! Yeah I’ll be stopping by to comment and hopefully win one! http://star-crossedromance.blogspot.com/2010/12/guest-terry-spear.html

All Romance Ebooks has a copy of Hero by Cheryl Brooks for free! http://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-hero-450474-143.html

Thanks everyone! Happy Holidays! I’m officially CLOSED 🙂 Bawhahaha!!

4 Responses

  1. Hey, Jenn. Love your new Update Feature and the main feature today certainly highlights the frustration of submitting work. RitaVF

  2. I had something similar with an agent who’d requested a partial in October of last year and got back to me in August this year. Yeah, imagine my surprsie when I e-mailed her thinking it was for a different project. Oops.

    If the time frame has expired, I’d contact them. They know this is important to you.

  3. One of the first things an agent or editor talks about is writing being a business. Mention you’re conducting the business of following up according to time frames they have personally set, and no one should find your inquiry inappropriate.

    If they do– and your approach was professional — I’d take that as a good reason to move on. There is a good, timely match for you out there somewhere; you just have to keep trying until you find it.

  4. Rinse, repeat. Move on to a new shampoo and do the same.
    It really is a vicious cycle. Need an agent to sell to most publishers, can’t get an agent because they are swamped, not accepting submissions or only interested in representing established authors (who already have an agent). Or send it to the few publishers who don’t require agent representation and it’s the same, they are swamped, not accepting submissions or only want books from established authors.

    Consider this, at least the time frames are now down to months instead of years.
    I once had a requested partial at a supposedly major NY publisher for eighteen months. I called they rejected the next day and have never accepted a query from me since.

    It’s the “bidness”. Figure out how to play the game and smile until your face breaks. Just remember you are in good company.
    Marcia

Leave a Reply

