Author Bianca Swan!!!

Hello everyone! Today I’m thrilled to have erotic romance author Bianca Swan here to blog with us. Please join me in welcoming her. Also I’m a popular lady today and am guest blogging at http://brindlechase.blogspot.com/2010/11/flirtatious-friday-on-tuesday-w-sayde.html with author Brindle Chase who will be a guest here soon. And I’m over on Rachel Leigh’s blog who guest blogged with us a few weeks ago http://rachelleighromance.blogspot.com/

Now lets get to wonderful author Bianca Swan and her new release :)!!

From the time I was a child, I loved horses—always thought every little box under the Christmas tree was a note saying that there was a pony tied outside.  Didn’t happen until I was 13 then not at Christmas just the miracle in July.  My first large pony was named First Fling, a black-and-white paint.

For several years, my husband (now ex) and I bred and showed Arabians.  They are lovely animals and I enjoyed my gelding Foxfire Baron, took him to The Nationals in costume, and had a superb time.  Then I discovered the Andalusian—the Horse of Kings and the bullfighting horse of Spain.  Also, a key ingredient in the original breeding of the Lipizzaner of Spanish Riding School fame.

I met my soul mate (on four feet) in the shape of a gorgeous 4 year-old stallion named Bonito, imported from Costa Rica, and a lot more talented horse than I was a rider.  I spent the next few years catching up, but I wouldn’t take anything for the experience.  Andalusians are very talented for the Airs Above the Ground  and I found myself wiping the red dirt of South Carolina off my hinny more times than I’d like to admit.

The Andalusian horse plays a strong supporting role in Hot Spanish Nights.  I’d always wanted to write a book about the horse I loved, was intrigued with their role in the bullring, and The Wild Rose Press offered me the opportunity with their erotic line Destination Desire.

However!  Once I started working with the editor the story grew beyond the line’s word length.  I must thank Trish Owens of TWRP for guiding me along the path to becoming a writer of erotic romance.  I was (and still am) a writer of paranormal and urban fantasy romance, the latter of which Bianca has blended into her hot world in the form of a novella about a sweet, dynamic fallen angel named Cam-ael.

If anyone wants to ask a question about the Andalusian or bullfighting, though I am no expert, I have done some research on the latter.

Sayde and I share the love of horses.  I rode English, foxhunting and dressage.  She lives on the edge, riding super fast horses around barrels (I do that in cars—around cones).

Thank you, Sayde for letting me take over the spotlight.

The music in my trailer for Hot Spanish Nights is Espana Cani (The Gypsy Dance).  A spectacular dance, the Paso Doble, is often performed to this song.

The translation of Paso Doble is “Two Step”, not to be confused with “Paso a Dos” (Dance for Two). The name refers to the marching nature of the dance, counted one, two for Left, Right.  Paso Doble is also known as the “Spanish One Step” because only one step is taken to each beat of music.  The tempo of Paso Doble music is usually a brisk 60 beats per minute.

The following steps are distictive to the Paso Doble:

  • Sur Place (on the spot)
  • Separation
  • Attack
  • Huit
  • Open Promenade to Open Counter Promenade
  • Spanish Line
  • Promenade Close
  • Flamenco Taps

The Paso Doble portrays a bullfight to march-like music used for the procession at the beginning of the corrida.  The music is played during the bullfighters’ entrance (paseo) or during the passes (faena) just before the kill. The man is bullfighter and the lady is his cape in the drama of a Spanish bullfight.

The dancers take dramatic steps forward on the heels, adding artistic hand movements. The forward steps, or walks, are strong and proud. The Torero (male dancer) should incorporate apel, a move in which he stamps his foot, much like a matador strikes the ground in order to capture the bull’s attention of the bull. All dance moves should be sharp and quick, with the chest and head held high to represent arogance and dignity.

Gypsy Dance, the music in the Hot Spanish Nights trailer, is classic Paso Doble.

(COVER HERE) The dance, the horses, the men and danger…all available now from The Wild Rose Press, The Wilder Roses….Hot Spanish Nights.  http://www.thewildrosepress.com/wilderroses/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=792&zenid=cdc4f915597ebca5d9fc1d29d2781098

Visit Bianca at:  http://www.biancaswan.com or at her blog:  http://biancaswanblog.wordpress.com/ .  You are invited to read an erotic short story, The Gatekeeper’s Cottage.  Beware: twisted ending.  Commenters on that blog page are entered to win prizes in random drawings.

THANK YOU to Bianca for bringing us such a great post!!

14 Responses

  1. That’s SOME cover!!

    I was just at a ballroom dance showcase this past weekend with one of my friends and they did a paso doble- it is a beautiful dance.

  2. Luscious cover!

    It’s been a few years, but I used to chase the Herrmann family performances out of Florida with their horses at every opportunity. For better than *hack, cough* a half century. (Does that ever sound scary!) Love to watch my grandchildrens’ eyes when the Levade, Croupade and Capriole were executed. It makes it new all over again. So thank you for including those magnificent war horses in your book, woman!

  3. I love the cover, an did you say.. Horses??? I love horses I may not know the things you and Sayde know, but the love is there. And to watch a horse dance is beautiful. Thanks for coming and blogging with us today.

  4. Wonderful blog! I don’t know that much about horses, but this is fascinating. And I LOVE your cover! 🙂

  5. I love the dancing horses!! I’ve always wanted to try dressage but am a bit scared of that 🙂 And one day we will have to write that book about the barrel racer and either an english trainer or um after seeing your cover a spanish horse breeder. YUM!!

  6. Sayde, Thank you so much for having me as a guest on your beautiful blog and thanks to everyone who dropped by and commented.

  7. I knew Bianca’s lovely Bomito. Awesome fellow, he was.

    Hot Spanish Nights is indeed HOT and Steamy. Bianca;s writing is lush, Try it.

    She is my blogmate and soul sister!

  8. How beautiful, Bianca! I loved your story (and am reminded of it regularly by my Hot Spanish Nights mug).

  9. Super post. Fascinating stuff. I love the dance, the horses, the guy…:)

  10. I have to say HOT SPANISH NIGHTS is an excellant short read, hot, sexy, did I say hot, oh heah, I did. Excellent read, be sure to get you copy!

    Bianca, I had the pleasure of seeing the Lippizaners practicing at the Spanish Riding School in Vienna. They are amazing, so regal and serious. I told my friends I refused to leave Vienna without seeing them and so we stood in line for an hour waiting for them to start their practice. They live in a palace, I was amazed to see their stables were a part of the royal palace!

  11. As an old friend, I liked Bianca’s story; as a reviewer, I applauded it. It’s being reviewed on Icy Snow Blackstone’s site as we speak (write?) A HOT story. Go Bianca!

  12. I have loved horses ever since I remember. As a kid I wanted a pony like the world would end without one. My father promised he’d buy one. He lied. But I remember expecting to see that pony in the yard. (Hugeeeee yard, with room), and how disappointed I was not to see one. Never promise a child anything you don’t intend to give them. Don’t dangle that carrot in their faces to trick them into doing more work or whatever, I never got that horse. But, I did have a lot of friends over my life who let me ride their horse. Heck, I was happy shoveling manure!
    This is the horse. ahem, and man, of my dreams! Thanks for giving them to us to dream about!
    Bianca, I hope to see many more stories from you!!

  13. Bianca delivers an erotic novella, beautifully written, and oh-so-hot.

  14. Bianca, I love Spanish dances and learned to dance them years ago, tango, passo dobelo, and real Spanish dance. Imagine, I can even use the castagnettes, not well, but enough. I have your story to read this week. http://www.monarisk.com

Leave a Reply

