Wish you were here….in, umm?…oh never mind!

So, as I have sat most of this week having great ideas that just don’t seem to want to find the way onto the page I was also drawing a blank on where to go for this week’s feature. Seriously nothing appealed to me and I resorted to closing my eyes and typing random letters in a search engine to see if anything would appear. Then one thing led to another and now I decided to travel a little bit.

New Zealand--Taumatawha... yea, that place!

First stop…Taumatawhakatangihangakoauauotamateapokaiwhenuakitanatahu, New Zealand which is said to translate to: “the place where Tamatea, the man with the big knees, who slid, climbed and swallowed mountains, known as ‘landeater,’ played his flute to his loved one.” Now how romantic is that, huh? Several websites say this is one of the most visited places in New Zealand, however either that is an exaggeration or this place is so small that other than this sign and a reported hill, there is nothing else pictureworthy. (I did find on one person’s travel blog the picture of a person standing next to the sign remarking they drove hours off track to find this place and the only thing there was the f**king sign!)

I guess it could be worse and visit Mamungkukumpurangkuntjunya Hill which translates to “where the devil urinates”.

The devil urinates here?

 So quickly moving on…

Nowhere Else

Second stop…Nowhere Else Tasmania. As the name might indicate, there isn’t a whole lot going on here. Why? Because it’s happening somewhere else, duh!         

Road to Nowhere?

                                The main road through town is aptly named Nowhere Else Road.

 When I leave Nowhere Else, I decide to travel over to the Edge of the World Tasmania. The sea west of Tasmania is the longest uninterrupted expanse of ocean.

Looking over the water, it’s easy to get the feeling you are indeed standing on the edge of the world.

Standing at The Edge of the World

City of Angles (not Los Angles)

Next stop…Krung Thep Mahanakhon Amon Rattanakosin Mahinthara Yuthaya Mahadilok Phop Noppharat Ratchathani Burirom Udomratchaniwet Mahasathan Amon Phiman Awatan Sathit Sakkathattiya Witsanukam Prasit. Local school children are taught this name although few can explain its meaning. (I don’t think I would have made it out of first grade if I had to learn this before I moved on.) Basically it is translated to: The city of angels, the great city, the eternal jewel city, the impregnable city of God Indra, the grand capital of the world endowed with nine precious gems, the happy city, abounding in an enormous Royal Palace that resembles the heavenly abode where reigns the reincarnated god, a city given by Indra and built by Vishnukarma”.

To everyone else in the world, it is known better as   —wait for it—

Krung Thep Mahanakhon Amon Rattanakosin Mahinthara Yuthaya Mahadilok Phop Noppharat Ratchathani Burirom Udomratchaniwet Mahasathan Amon Phiman Awatan Sathit Sakkathattiya Witsanukam Prasit.

One night in Bangkok!

Distance from New York to Imalone

Last stop…or starting point for every single woman looking for some romance, Imalone WI. Imalone is a small, unincorporated town located in Rusk County Wisconsin.

Again, given the name, not much happening here.

At least it will be a beautiful walk in Rusk County while Imalone.

Guess I know what awaits me at home on the end of this road.

One thing I did learn traveling today is the world is full of the strange and unusual. This was just a small journey through this odd world. I hope you will join me when I decide to go off the beaten path.

Till next week?

3 Responses

  1. What a fun journey, but I thought I lived on the edge of the world here in Shemya Island in Alaska!

    LG

  2. Wow, Lizbeth! You have the most imaginative mind and take us to such amazing places. I love visiting here every Sunday, and it’s all your fault! LOL

    Beautiful! Remote! Awe inspiring! A person could ask for nothing more. I appreciate your posts more than you realize.

    Rock on, Liz!

  3. I am laughing my butt off here. This was an awesome post. I’m gonna want you to pronounce all these places when I see you next so you better get practicing! What a fun post today. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

