Tuesday’s Industry News: Rewriting

Hi all. So I was MIA last week and nearly so this week but thanks to a friendly reminder from SFCatty I am here, late but here. The last two weeks I’ve been rewriting my second book. It was originally a book all about a woman who sees and talks to ghosts as well as reads minds. I wrote this book nearly two years ago on the tail end of the ghosts/witch scene. Now the vamps, demons, and shifters have taken over the paranormal realm and this book was a particularly tough sale.

So what do you do when you have a book that you like and want to get published yet the characters are not popular? Well for me, I changed them. Now my ghost is a demonic messenger for the devil and the bad guy is now the devil himself.

But what do you do? Do you follow trends or write what you want and hope that the trend flows in your direction?

3 Responses

  1. Glad you’re back!

    I write what I like. I have one story I wrote about National Health care issues for my heroine and I sure thought it was right on target for what was happening in this country but it was a no sale- of course, I only submitted it to one place. LOL!

    AND, as you know, I have that 1920s Irish Historical- so, I think it is safe to say, I go with what I like and the heck with the market- may be why I haven’t sold one!

  2. I can’t say that trends don’t influence me to some extent — I started thinking about adding some paranormal to my historicals after reading some articles about how crossing genre lines is becoming more popular. The trend gave me the idea.
    But I will say that I don’t write just because something is supposed to be hot. I mean, if I don’t like it, I’m not gonna write it just to be popular. Even if the audience for barechested noblemen with raven hair and piercing eyes dried up tomorrow (fat chance of that), I’m still lost in the Regency. I’ll be ripping bodices as long as I can use a keyboard, no matter what the trends are.

  3. Well, everything I’ve published was an assignment with a specific subject and word count.

    For the first time I don’t have to consider column inches! I’d have to admit right now I write for me, frolicking in an unrestricted number of words and loving it, loving it loving it! LOL Hopefully I’ll mature in attitude before too long. Don’t know how I feel about ‘trends’. Seems like trends are started by that single well-written story that captures the readers imagination. And truthfully, their imagination is where I want to some day live!

Leave a Reply

