Wetsday Birthday Boy

Good Morning All! Today’s guest is one of my all time favorites, and given that Monday was his birthday and he has a big summer blockbuster, I figured he deserved a turn in the Wetsday spotlight.

He’s got one of the yummiest accents you’ll find, given that he is from Northern Ireland. Probably why they picked him to play Aslan the Lion in some of the best kid’s movies ever, The Chronicles of Narnia Series.

He doesn’t always roll the Emerald Isle way, though. He is actually playing Lyndon B. Johnson in the upcoming Selma. Having lived through the LBJ administration, I am fascinated at the idea of this elegant gentleman behaving in the manner Lyndon did – picking dogs up by the ears?!?!? (And I realized that I just really dated myself!)

If you are a long-time fan of historical romances, I’m sure you remember Barbara Taylor Bradford’s A Woman of Substance. Our guest was the wonderful Blackie O’Neill in the tv miniseries way back in 1984. (Please note that he also lived through the ’60’s — I love a hero that ages well!) Sci-fi fans know him as Qui-Gon Jinn in Star Wars: The Phantom Menace. And having admitted to being old enough to remember the first iteration of The A-Team, I will say it was not a remake that I feel the world needed. But he will be some very attractive eye-candy in it!

Seriously, this guy just has way too many great movies to list ’em all — Excalibur, Rob Roy, Schindler’s List, Gangs of New York. But I have to mention how sweet and lovable he was in my favorite grown-up’s Christmas movie of all time Love Actually, where he was right up there with my beloved Colin and Alan Rickman in the hawtness quotient.

So please give a big birthday welcome to this week’s Wetsday guest, Liam Neeson!!!!

5 Responses

  1. We watched Rob Roy again on Monday, so Liam in a kilt is very fresh in my mind. Yummers! Have always loved this man! Could close my eyes and just listen for hours–but I’d rather keep my eyes open! lol

    And he was every girl’s dream father in TAKEN.

    Don’t you love it when looks AND versitility co-exist in an actor? Fantastic choice as usual, Ro’mama. Couldn’t think of a better way to start Wetsday!

  2. Okay, is it sad that every time I see the name Anslan I want to cry my eyes out? He was wonderful as the voice. I’m not a huge fan of Mr. Neeson, but he is a hottie with a schexy voice.

  3. love him, love him, love him.. Such a great actor!!!! I’m in love… omg.. he’s awesome!!!!!!

  4. I have to disagree about the A-Team- it was a majorly FUN show and I for one am ready to see the re-make- who can resist Liam and Bradley Cooper together? I may melt in a puddle on the theatre floor and I will be the icky sticky goo you step in next time you go. Please don’t leave tread marks on the face. Thanks

Leave a Reply

