Natural Phenomenon/Phantasy Friday

A natural phenomenon is a non-artificial event in the physical sense. Maybe not the most accurate comparison, but I feel it happened to me last weekend. My grandson came over and we fished at the pond as usual. We both spotted the huge water moccasin at the same time. I did a tip-toed snake dance as it wriggled closer, searching for something to bash it with. Then the child I’ve always protected leapt up with a quick, “Don’t worry, Mawmaw. Me and Buster got it covered.” Yes, his shotgun is named Buster. Tyler’s twelve and dispatched the snake quite efficiently and effectively before I could do a thing.

I’m left to face my personal natural phenomena: a transference of power and protection between generations. He had protected me. And I was left off balance, unsure now how to deal with it. We guide our young, train them to be responsible and self-sufficient then are shocked when it finally happens without prompting; so my knee-jerk reaction was what was weird . . . I ran in and baked cinnamon rolls in an effort to force him to regress to a stage I felt more comfortable with. It didn’t work; his mustache was all the more noticable with frosting on it. And he’s capable of inhaling six rolls now, not just nibbling two. I can only compare the shock of it to seeing the Aurora Borealis. You’ve always known the Northern Lights were there, can give the scientific reason for their existence and know they’ll be seen eventually. But seeing them stops you dead in your tracks. Like Tyler stepping so easily into an adult action stopped me in mine. So today, in honor or the aforementioned event, we’re taking a picture trip to Yellow Knife, Canada, 400 miles south of the arctic circle. How cold is it? Check out the thermometer! 38 degrees below zero!

The energetic particles that make aurora come from the geospace environment, the magnetosphere. These energetic particles are mostly electrons, but protons also make aurora. The electrons travel along magnetic field lines. The Earth’s magnetic field looks like that of a dipole magnet where the field lines are coming out and going into the Earth near the poles. The auroral electrons are thus guided to the high latitude atmosphere. As they penetrate into the upper atmosphere, the chance of colliding with an atom or molecule increases the deeper they go. Once a collision takes place, the atom or molecule takes some of the energy of the energetic particle and stores it as internal energy while the electron goes on with a reduced speed. The process of storing energy in a molecule or atom is called “exciting” the atom. An excited atom or molecule can return to the non-excited state (ground state) by sending off a photon, i.e. by making light.

                                                                                                                                                                                                            

While the aurora borealis is fascinating, I have another favorite. I equate it to love because so many exacting things have to happen simultaneously to bring it to life. But when they do . . .

THIS IS A FIRE RAINBOW (below) – THE RAREST OF ALL NATURALLY OCCURRING ATMOSPHERIC PHENOMENA. THE PICTURE WAS CAPTURED THIS WEEK ON THE  IDAHO ,  WASHINGTON BORDER.  THE EVENT LASTED ABOUT 1 HOUR.

CLOUDS HAVE TO BE CIRRUS, AT LEAST 20K FEET IN THE AIR, WITH JUST THE RIGHT AMOUNT OF ICE CRYSTALS AND THE SUN HAS TO HIT THE CLOUDS AT PRECISELY 58 DEGREES.

6 Responses

  1. Wow, Runere! I was just lying here w insomnia, thinking about my bucket list when I checked your post. I have definitely added seeing the Aurora to my list.
    And boy, do I know about the transfer of power/authority to the next generation. W/ DD#1 graduating from HS in a month, it is kind of an everyday thing around here. Not that frequency makes it any more pleasant, mind you.

    • This time it’s harder on me than with my children! Thought it would be old hat to me. Not!!!

    • Got a question Ro’mama: Does it make you feel freed or disgruntled by being unnecessary? I’m vacillating between the two and can’t land on either one. laughing

  2. Great article Runere, loved learning new things. Thanks for posting something on mine.. super hugs sister

  3. Another great entry- Love that fire rainbow. Never seen it. Been to Alaska – awesome place. We got there just as the last of the borealis of the year was visible-

    As for the grandson, it is awesome to see them grow like they do. I love my boys so much and now that they are young men, I love the feeling of being protected and the litle bit of swapping of roles. God bless children.

Leave a Reply

