Matrixing/Paredoilia–Phantasy Friday’s Freaky Subject

Matrixing–or paredoilia–is the name given to the way the human brain sometimes fools the eyes.                         

Does the image you see seem to be moving? I can guarantee you it isn’t.  Believe me; I printed it out to be sure. You’re welcome to, too,  if it makes you feel better. 

 

Frankly, it’s one of  the best examples of matrixing I’ve encountered. It’s a double-edged sword because matrixing is one of the debunking tools used in the paranormal investigation world. A world I love to get elbow deep into a few times a month using digital cameras, night vision video cameras, tempurature change recorders, EMF detectors, audio recorders placed in numerous locations, and even windchimes sealed in a jar; all as a means to investigate houses or buildings with suspected paranormal activity. It’s easy to get excited when we seem to have caputred something authentic. Yet anyone in the field has to stay on constant guard to keep an open mind, open eyes and open ears. So we employ matrixing software and the help of professional photographers to validate or debunk our photographic finds.

I want you to look at the next image. Closely. Tell me how many figures or faces (if any) you can find in it. We’ll get back to it in just a moment. Please suffer through just a little more science first.

 

Examples of matrixing you may recognize are the Face on Mars. Or car designs. Automotive grilles are often deliberately manipulated to make a vehicle appear more ‘friendly’ or ‘aggressive’ for marketing purposes. And no one who’s ever seen a Studebaker at an antique car show will disagree: it looks like a Ford that sucked on a lemon. (Sorry about that one. I plead a strange sense of humor.)

“Holy” figures in surprising places or shapes in clouds are ocaisionally considered matrixing,  What most people don’t know is even the scientific community uses a sort of directed matrixing: Rorschach ink blot tests. Surprised you there, didn’t I? And that one’s not a joke.

The most basic explanation I can come up with for matrixing is that recognizing other humans (particularly faces of parents) is the first skill a baby learns. It’s so deeply ingrained in the psyche–and maybe our DNA–it remains operative on an unconscious level throughout our lives. Pattern recognition of this sort is also a survival tool; it allowed earliest humans a way to spot predators in hiding.

But not everything can be explained as matrixing. Some things are truly unexplainable.  Take one more look at the window image above. It’s from a house used as a Civil War hospital. After you’ve studied it take a quick look at the final image of today’s blog.

I will tell you it was initially dismissed as possible matrixing . . . until I delivered a second image to show it’s a shot of a second story window, taken from the ground. There was no possible way to produce such a proportionate reflection from anyone standing near me at the time it was taken; neither was anyone in the room. Since it’s my picture, I can guarantee there has been no photoshopping, no enhancements whatsoever. It’s exactly as it is on the digital smart card. I’ve simply enlarged it for easier viewing.  

    

The picture is a shot of the window on the upper left, the one with red curtains. In the final picture (below) I took the liberty of outlining forms a number of individuals consistently noticed in the frame. One seems to be an older gentleman sitting with forearms on his thighs (left, with upper part of his head above middle window divider) and the full face of a woman on the red cloth at the right side of the photo. If you look between the two pics again, (this face I didn’t outline) there seems to be a young child, her face looking downward, slightly right-profiled. She has a broad forehead that is part of the woman’s chin and lower face to help find her in the first, and unmarked photo. 

                                                                                                                                                

                  So, what do you think? Are we matrixing? I just felt a shiver . . . .                  What do your goosebumps say?

7 Responses

  1. Ok so you do freak me out at times. But I didn’t see the ones you said. In the first I saw two in the right glass. One looked to be screaming while the other crying. Very sad to me. Now stop freaking me out you know I am ghostophobic

    • Didn’t mean to upset you, Sayde! Not my intention at all.

      Sure you can’t see the man? I get the impression he’s wearing a medical coat, sleeves rolled back. Can’t help but wonder if he’s the doctor who cared for the soldiers. The history of the house says he was dedicated to healing any who needed his help. I like to think that strength of character carries on.

  2. I saw two the first time I looked- on the right side. Awesome. But not a doctor. Woman and child is what I saw

    As to tthe car grill thing- I’ve said that for years- sometimes there’s a big ass truck ehind me and they just LOOK menacing with that grill. I get the hell outta the way! I guess that’s the intent.

    Great post. Enjoyed it.

  3. You always give me chills, but not in a bad way. The chills are from the knowledge that things are not always as they first appear. Thank you for sharing this with us.

  4. You don’t scare me at all.. I loved it. Seen the ghost your talking about at Cindy’s house… nicely put together. Whoot!!!

Leave a Reply

