Silken Sands Success Stories

Today, the Sizzlers share our Silken Sands Conference Success Stories. Imagine pitching to your agent or editor at a table under an umbrella on the veranda of a resort hotel on the beach with a cool breeze blowing.  Most of our conference attendees had great succeses.  When The Calls come, ladies, please share them with the Sizzlers so we can post them in our blog.

Gothic Dweller

Gothicwriter: This year our Silken Sands Conference meant more to me then any of the others. I felt more of a member and I pitched for the first time to Lindsey Faber, and Elaine Spencer. Both requested material. Being around our group of writers felt like coming home. People who understand the need to write. It’s like a sisterhood. I have made history in my life this year and even if nothing becomes of what has happened. I’m proud of myself for the experience. I’m proud of all who tried, and to the ones who didn’t. Next time will be your time to shine. We understand the need to step back. It just means you weren’t ready. Dreams do come true. If you want something, you have to work for it. In the end, it’ll mean all the more. To Cynthia Eden. you put together a mean conference. Thank you for everything. You’re wonderful. And to all the ladies who received a request to send out “Good Luck!”  We’re getting closer.

Lizbeth:   The conference was great and I really learned a lot, especially at the editing presentation which will help with the final edits before submitting them. Patience Smith requested a full of my romantic suspense and Lindsey Faber requested a full of my paranormal short story. 

Lizbeth

 

 

 

 

 

RitaVF:  Appreciated Cynthia Eden’s and Joan Turner’s hard work. Loved the conference. Learned a lot. Met new folks and visited with old ones. Only pitched to Samhain’s Lindsey Faber. She requested a full of His Obsession (SQUEEE!!). When I apologized for talking so fast (I had so much to say and so little time to say it.), she replied, “I talk fast but I hear fast, too.” A genuinely nice lady.  I’m going to do one more read before emailing it.  Won a basket and a critique by Dianna Love.  HAPPY DAYS!

Rita VF and Romancemama

Romancemama:  Wow! It was a fast, furious and fun weekend. This weekend marked the “coming out of the closet” of my pen name, Arabella Stokes. She has written books, but I have never introduced myself as her. Felt very odd. I talked about it with my new buddy Karen Rose (yes, shameless name-dropping here!) who like me has people in her life who can’t handle some of her writing.

And to me, that is just one example of what was so great about Silken Sands. We had all the bright-eyed neophytes like moi sitting down with industry powerhouses, and the biggies not only didn’t act bored with us, they were positively friendly and encouraging. I mean, for Karen Rose to compare any, any aspect of her incredible career with my hesitant little baby steps?!?!?! I sat and swilled cheap white wine with Barbara Vey, people! She put a picture of me on her blog! I chatted up the future of e-publishing with Lindsey Faber!It does not get any better than that.

The Gulf Coast Chapter is a rare and unique group, and our conference reflects that. I’ll go a step further: Cynthia Eden is one of the most professional, delightful people you could meet, and under her leadership, the conference couldn’t be anything else. The 2012 Chair (are you listening, SFCatty? LOL!) has huge shoes to fill!!!

Runere. I’ve piloted offshore marine vessels through Texas locks, and sat box on a dice game with over half a million dollars in play with only one tenth the trepidation with which I approached my two pitch appointments! Yes, it’s that big, and all consuming when it’s something you want so badly and only eight minutes to accomplish it. I felt like one of Sayde Grace’s cowboys in slo-mo: eight seconds vs eight minutes! I’m so fortunate to be part of the support system called RWA Chapter #125 and their spicy spin-off the Southern Sizzlers (Go, my writing sisters!). And I am beyond excited to report I have a request from Laura Bradford for the first thirty pages and a detailed synopsis of the book I pitched to her; and a request for the full MS of the book I pitched Lindsey Faber from Samhain Publishing. Lindsey went out of her way to make my experience a pleasant and promising one! Thank you so much Silken Sands for providing that opportunity!

Runere and Steve

 

 

 

 

 

Sayde Grace: I received a request for a new short story from Lindsey Faber and an ms from Megan Records.  

Sayde Grace

 

 

 

 

 

 

SFCatty:   Silken Sands Conference was a wonderful experience. Met lots of amazing people from all over the country as well as Canada. This was my first experience at a writer’s conference since I came out of the writing closet a bit over a year ago. I’m wondering what took me so long to get involved with such an awesome group of supportive people. It is inspiring to be around so many others that have the same interest in being the best we can be in our writing endeavors. I was impressed with each and every one of the editors and agents I met. All the speakers had knowledge to impart. It was a great experience and one I hope to repeat again and again. Even if none of the requests I got for my work pan out to anything, it was so worth it. Patience Smith asked for a full on Runaway, my romantic suspense and Lindsay Faber asked for a full on Redemption for the Devil , my 1920 Irish historical. I am also sending a partial of Runaway to Elaine Spencer. And, I’m proud to say that I’m not a pitch virgin any longer. Kudos to our conference chair, Cynthia Eden and her co-chair, Joan Turner. They are da bomb!    

SFCatty

8 Responses

  1. Congrats ladies! Remember us when you’re all best sellers!

  2. Thank you Tammy, You’ll get there too. Don’t give up. Paula

  3. We’re on Barbara Vey Publishers Weekly magazine. Woohoo.. Go see!!!!! What a sweet lady. I wish we were still there at the conference. It’s such a high to be among so many talented ladies.

  4. Congrats, y’all! I’m thrilled to read about so many success stories. Talent, it’s in the South baby, woot-woot! Bwahaha.

  5. removed

  6. No, no, no!!!! I let SFCatty use my HP one time, and now the darn thing thinks I am her everytime I try to log on!!! The post above about getting 3 requests was from me, Ro’mama/Arabella Stokes. However, as SFCatty noted in the main blog article, she got plenty o’ requests this weekend too. Twas tres successful all the way around.

Leave a Reply

