Badurday with a slight twist

As you know, I usually pick an actor that is a sexy bad boy in one or more movie roles as the bad boy of the week.  For a change, this week, I have picked a fictional character that was the ultimate bad boy.  The Alpha male for the record books.  We all loved him EXCEPT the woman he loved.  She waited too late to realize what she had, doomed to lose him forever.  To use one of her own words, “mealy-mouthed,”  Why would she want that mealy-mouthed Ashley Wilkes when she could have a real man? One that wanted her?  (This is not a dig at Lesley Howard who was marvelous as the Scarlet Pimpernel).

Anyway, I give you our bad boy of the week, Rhett Butler:  Would you turn this one away?   So suave, so debonair.

Some of  my favorite lines (paraphrased): “You should be kissed and often. By someone who knows how.”

“There’s one thing I do know. Its that I love you. In spite of you and me and the whole silly world going to pieces around  us, I love you.”

“What a woman.”

and who could forget “I always thought a good lashing with a buggy whip would benefit you immensely.”  NOW, that’s a bad boy quote for sure.

She pushed him away so many times and when she finally realized she loved him and told him, “I only know that I love you,” he replied, “That’s your misfortune.” and walked away, back to Charleston.

14 Responses

  1. He was a good looking man…although I heard he had bad breath. Kind of ruins the image for me, lol

    • I’ve heard that, too- something to do with his false teeth. He was married to the gorgeous Carole Lombard so he must have done something right! LOL!

  2. I must have been about 10 when I first watched GWTW and fell in love with Clark Gable! I swear if the man was alive, I would be in jail for stalking. There is just something about the hansome devil, I cannot let go of! LOL!

  3. One of my favorite heroes. Though if I’d written the book Scarlet would have come to her danged senses and her and Rhett would have had an HEA. But that’s just me.

  4. I’m not *hack! cough!* telling my age or anything, but one of our school field trips for drama class was to see the original release of Gone With the Wind. I’ve been ruined since for nearly anyone else portraying that era..

    And THEN the stupid (I use the term loosely) teacher took us to Stratford-on-Avon, Quebec for the annual Shakespeare Festival. Have been hitting Renaissance festivals ever since!

    But Butler? What masculine power that man projected on the big screen!

    • Runere- NO WAY. That was 1939. Nope, I’ll never believe it. Never. You are full of crap! Love ya but you are not 80 years old- even if you were only 10 in 1939, you’d be 80 now. And if you are, I wanna be you when I grow up.

      • Wondered if you’d catch that! laughing Okay, but it was still in the EARLY sixties! Think it was some technicolor reproduction thingy. And sometimes I FEEL 80, so I don’t think it was that much of a fib!

        But it was the absolute truth I was ruined for how that era was protrayed from then on.

        Stratford-on-Avon was a sixties thing, too, but a little later. Too young–technically–for the wine skin I was toting around, but they were wonderful times. The Renaissance equivalent of Spring Break, it was acres and acres of every Shakespeare production imaginable. Even had signs in the doors of certain restaurants stating “NO STUDENTS”! Want to go back and do it again!

  5. This is one of my all-time favorites. But I have a different take on the ending. Tara was Scarlet’s source of strength, the place where she returned to lick her wounds and recover throughout the movie but you see it more in the book. When she returned to Tara at the end, I believe she re-emerged stronger than ever. Rhett didn’t have a chance. You don’t keep a Southern woman down! It was unfortunate that Margaret Mitchell was killed before she could finish the story. What do y’all think? Rita
    BTW, I also heard Clark Gable had disgusting oral hygiene and I believe that it was Vivian Leigh who refused to do a scene with him until he brushed his teeth because of his onion breath.R

  6. I heard a story that he was rinsing his dentures in a water fountain at the end of the hall, waved them at a reporter and asked “What do you think of America’s Sweetheart now?”

  7. Runere- never kid a kidder. Caught ya. And would love to have been at the Shakespeare thing.

    Ritavf- I think I read once that Margaret Mitchell said they never got back together. But I could be telling fibs- maybe I dreamed it. I do agree in theory with you. Scarlett was one determined woman.

    Runere- Love the dentures story.

  8. OMG, I’ve been so sick I missed this one! The ONE man I’ve based two of my characters on and I miss him!!! COME ON, give a gal warning next time. Great choice, this is the best ever!

  9. Ok, chiming in late here, to point out that our Sayde would have Scarlett in a menage a trois with Rhett and Ashley! Not that that is a bad idea, mind you —
    though like SFCatty, I prefer Leslie Howard when he’s Pimp(ernel)’d out!

    BTW, are you all aware that Leslie Howard was quite the international man of mystery, and served as a spy for the Allies? A real life Scarlet Pimpernel, and tres sexy while he did it!

  10. One menage story and this is what I get!!! But to answer that comment HELL NO RHETT would be all the man anyone ever needed! My character Braxton is cross between Rhett and Patricia Briggs character Adam, yummmmmmm!

Leave a Reply

