Still Limping Along on Wetsday

So I went back to the doctor today, just sure that I would be getting rid of my stinky old boot and be driving again. Quel depression!!! I can start getting used to walking on the broken foot again, but I have to wean myself from the Bella Boot slowly. And only very limited driving starting this weekend. I am not happy. I mean, yes, the break is healing, but it is going to still be some time until I am my frisky self again.
This has really helped me get into the mindset of my historical heroines, though. It is difficult for us modern, on-our-own-two-feet kind of chicks to understand what it was like for women throughout most of history. My regency girls were not able to just hitch up the gig and go off for a weekend road trip with their buds from the Society for Orphan Welfare. Nice women were dependent on other people — especially men — to a degree we cannot begin to grasp. And knowing what it has been like to have to ask if I can go to Target or Books A Million has truly brought that home to me.
So if Lady Anne seems just a little shrill about telling the Marquess that she can take care of herself, thank you very much, y’all will know where that came from!

But as to the more important news of the week, I trust that you are all aware that true genius has at last been recognized: My Darling Colin Firth has been deservedly nominated for an Oscar! And not for best wet shirt in a supporting role, though if you follow his career, you know that he has a real talent for finding ways to get wet — not just P&P, but Valmont, both Bridget Joneses, etc. (And speaking of Valmont, if you only saw the version of Dangerous Liaisons with that bizarre Malkovich person, you have not seen the wicked Viscomte as he was meant to be! Highly recommend you find a copy of Valmont; my dear one is beyond perfect in it.)

So in honor of Colin’s nomination, and to pay tribute to all those wet shirt scenes, here is a little video of the Fabulous Mr. Firth:

4 Responses

  1. Sorry about the stinky boot. Better to smell than to swell–or reinjure.

    Loved the YouTube. He is one fine guy and some of his pics might qualify for Heroic Hunk. What are the copyright considerations when using movie pics and music for YouTubes or posts?

    Will cheer for Colin on Awanrds Night. RitaVF

  2. I do so love Colin Firth…le sigh.

    I’m glad you’ll be back in the thick of things soon. And yes, I think today’s modern woman should be glad we don’t have to worry about asking permission on where we spend our money, where we go, or how we get there. It would drive me batty to have to do that! I like having a car at my disposal and being able to get in it and go wherever I want, whenever I want. Meh.

  3. Very nice. As you know, I have my very own copy of Valmont. I think I was the one to recommend it to you oh so many years ago!

  4. Man mama! You messed up your foot this time! Sorry about the boot šŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

