A quick Name question

All right everyone, my critique partner and I keep going back and forth over names. On one hand I started my WIP with one name which I like and the cp loves, on the other hand I adore this other name. So what do you do when you can’t decide on a name?

Well I’m putting it out there for our bloggers to decide.

A. Scarlet “Lettie”

B. Siddalee “Sidda”

This character is fiesty and a werewolf, not just any werewolf but the bitch wolf. Her mate is a complete badass Aplha wolf. So tell me what you think of names.

11 Responses

  1. Oooh, they’re both good! Hm…I like Siddalee “Sidda”. It’s different, and doesn’t make me think of Scarlet O’Hara (unless that’s the slant you want to take.)

  2. I like Lettie- the other is too weird for me but you know how I feel about weird names, girl! S

    • Ok, I’ll share my inspiration so that Sfcatty will be ok with the weird name πŸ™‚

      I love the names from the movie The Secrets of the YaYa Sisterhood. I like the movie but man it’s got some great southern names in it and not just the females, Shep(love it!) Siddalee is played by Sandra Bullock and i just love her. So after seeing it again the other night I decided I kinda wanted to change to Sidda. As for Scarlet well this started off as a short story for the Red Hot Fairy Tale submissions and I needed something for little red riding hood(hence scarlet(red))

  3. Unique characters need unique names–so I understand the frustration.

    You have the advantage of Sidda being used in a movie, so it’s recognizable, yet unusual enough to stand apart. It was one of my favorite names from that film! (If they can remember your characters, they will remember the writer’s name too!)

    Hey, I have a couple baby name books and several name sheets from certain time periods that I refer to (including surnames). And aside from the icky factor some people may suffer, there are fantastic names in old graveyards. Yeah, I cruise the boneyards where ever we go! Paranormal people are like that, ya know. Sorry! lol

  4. Sayde-Ok I remember her in that role. Brain lapse.

    Runere- I find names on exit signs on the interstate as I travel. My latest I found on my travels was Ocilla Sylvester, Haven’t used it yet. LOL!

  5. I usually go to the SS baby names by year webpage. But I do soooo love the name Siddalee. To bad I didn’t think of it when I was pregnant with B. She could have been Sidda Joe πŸ˜‰

  6. Okay – I love em both. And if you change the hero’s name, I’m flying down south for a little talk. I know you won’t change his name – right? πŸ™‚

    • Well Bec I’ve been kinda thinking of changing it to Earl πŸ™‚ hmmm, I guess I’ll be moving to an undisclosed place.

  7. I’m kinda liking Siddalee — different but not totally bizarre. My oldest has the kind of name that everybody hears and says, “Oh I met somebody named that once.” Never more than once. But it is not one of the random assortment of letters than some people name kids and/or characters. It’s a real name, just . . . different. I kinda like that. And luckily my kid feels the same way about it.
    So name your character whatever feels good to you. Final answer.

  8. I like both names. However, since you are writing for a paranormal reader, you might consider Scarlet, though I can’t imagine an alpha female named Lettie. The Siddhe or, whatever similar spelling you use, generally refer to the fairy, an ancient, almost-immortal race in Britain. They are NOT nice little people who fly around throwing dust. Rita

    • Rita, you crack me up lady. what a wealth of information you are. I was actually going to use Sidda from the movie her full name would be Siddalee, hmmm, now I may change that again though. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

