Agent vs. Publisher___Take off those Gloves and Fight!

Hello everyone! Wow, its getting closer and closer to Christmas and I still haven’t taken pity on my husband and told him anything I want. I guess I really should do that, but I’m still trying to think of something I’d like. Oh well, onto my topic for the day.

A good friend of mine and critique partner just received news from an editor who wants to publish three of her manuscripts. WOW! I almost dropped my laptop when I read the email from her! My critique parnter is wonderful and I can’t wait to read her books in print. But get this, not only does an editor want her work an agent(very well known agent!) wants to represent her.

This morning I received an email from my rockstar author friend, needing advice. I was like “What the heck are you asking me for, I’m still in the trenches!” But the phone call brought up very good points to think about.

1. If an editor wants your work what is most important to you? The money, the fame, marketing, or future books?

2. Should you negotiate a contract on your own or bow down to an agent for help?

3. Is the grass greener on the other side????

Okay, so the publishing house Im talking about is major. Not major major, but very well known. I can’t wait to say more but for now I’ll leave out names. (until i get the green light then its on like donkey kong!) Tell me your opinions. If you were offered a three book deal by a very well known publishing house what would your major concerns be???

3 Responses

  1. I think I’d want an agent. I know it isn’t necessary to get published, but having someone in my corner who’ll fight for me would be a great relief, I think. Navigating the world of contracts on my own…just thinking about it makes me shudder. That’s my two cents anyway 🙂

    • It’s a hard call for me as I’ve been rejected by so many agents that I find it hard to say I’d say no to a contract at this point 🙂 I’guess I’ll wait around and see if any publisher is crazy enough to publish me first 🙂

  2. As a lawyer, I say, get the agent! Even being someone who is versed in contract law, I’d get an agent because this is unknown territory. I am not a snob but if I, with 25 years experience as a lawyer, wouldn’t negotiate my own terms, I would recommend an getting an agent to someone with zero legal experience as that agent has experience on what needs to be addressed in that contract and I’d want one in my corner.

Leave a Reply

