Pushing Limits

Okay, usually when you think of pushing limits in books we all think of sexual limits. Today I’m not talking about that, instead I’m talking about religous limits. I was discussing a topic on the way to New Orleans and one or two of the riders got upset with me for my “opinion” on a certain topic. Now is it blasphemey to question what we “know”?

The topic is simple, In some religions Adam is believed to have had a wife before Eve. She was made from the earth just as Adam and believed they were equals. Lilith would not bend to his will and left Eden. Adam complained to God about her and God sent angels to inform her either she would come back and follow Adam’s orders or a hundred babies a day would die because of her.

She didn’t come back, so God created Eve from Adam’s rib. Later Lilith decides to make Eve see she is equal no matter what Adam says. She is believed to be the snake who tempted Eve.

Now as I said this is all information based on various religous beliefs. I find it interesting and am using Lilith in my YA book I’m writing. BUT is this morally and religously right? What are your opinions??

My perfect Angel. Picture taken at St. Louis Cemetary Number One:

 

8 Responses

  1. Ouch, okay. Religion will always be one of those subjects people will either agree with you on, or dislike you passionately forever. It’s one of those topics (like politics) that goes strictly on faith which can’t be explained logically.

    Personally, I don’t see anything wrong with you pushing the envelope in writing fiction that holds a religious element. Isn’t this what some of our favorite paranormal authors do when they write stories about Angels and Demons? Writing fiction is about taking an old idea and giving it a new spin. Whether it’s morally/religious right or wrong, no one can answer but you.

    I don’t think it’s wrong, but then I have a very open mind about religion. I actually did NOT know Lilith was considered Adam’s first wife in some religions. So your writing about it might bring this awareness to someone else and change their life. You never know.

    Hope that made sense and didn’t sound like my usual rambling nonsense 🙂

  2. Greetings everyone, I am also open minded about religion, even though I have never heard of Lilith. What faith states this info? I think in the world of writing it’s no hold bar…we push the limits all the time. It’s what makes our writing original…interesting.. and makes our readers coming back for more..

  3. Oh, Jenn, it’s totally right, particularly when you are writing paranormal books. I write about demons all the time–and I don’t worry about my demons offending people and their religious beliefs. Why? Because my stories are fiction! The worlds we create are our own–we can take legends and stories–even religious stories–and put our own spins on them.

    My favorite show on TV is Supernatural. What’s happening on there now? A new re-telling of the angels and the big battle with Lucifer.

  4. I have read the story of Lilith. I agree with Danica, though- religion can be a touchy subject. That being said, I agree that you should move your story where your heart leads it. If you want to use Lilith as a character, do it. Cindy is right about the fact that you can’t worry about offending with your writing. It is what it is and most of all, its you-part of your soul and you gotta stay true to you – your passion is the best thing about you- keep it sacred!

  5. I see some one has actually been reading her Bible for herself, not just letting someone else interpret it for her! (Read Genesis; it’s all there.)

    No, it’s a touchy subject, Sayde, one that needs to be handled delicately. My Dad was a Baptist preacher, but was one of the rare individuals capable of maintaining an incredibly open mind. He was quick to quote both sides of an issue, and the first to point out the Bible speaks of worlds, worlds, in the plural. Which of us can say what or where those worlds are, and what they consist of? He always said man’s most grievious error was in trying to drag God down to our pitiful level of understanding instead of opening ourselves to greater knowledge.

    I think the Creator hides things for us to search out. At least I hope that’s what it is. I’d hate to think anything else; that would mean we pissed Him off so badly He took knowledge from us.

    Take the cube carvings of Rosslyn Chapel in Scotland for example. One of the most beautiful pieces of music I’ve ever heard had been built into the arches of the chapel ceiling over six centuries ago, only discovered a few years ago by a WWII code breaker by the last name of Mitchell. The spiralling Apprentice Pillar there as well has been identified as a strand of DNA. My question is this: Just DNA in general; or some specific someone’s DNA? Ah! Makes you think, huh?

    You brought up equality. I loved my Dad’s wedding ceremonies. I miss his eloquence, and can’t do it justice, but I’ll give you the gist of my Dad’s words on that.

    God created woman from Adam’s rib. Not from his head to rule over him; not from his heel to be trod upon by him; but from his side to be equal to him. From beneath his arm to be sheltered there, and from his rib specifically to ever be closest to his heart. Being made from bone signifies that a woman is supposed to be strong -and her obvious purpose to ensure that single heart’s protection.

    Will leave you with a quote:

    “Sometimes truth has to be administered like poison. A drop at a time, or it is rejected.”

  6. Thanks so much everyone! Great comments and GREAT suggestions. I’m so looking forward to writing the second half of this book.

  7. Paula- The story of Lilith is from the Jewish religion

  8. Lessons in life revised:

    Never discuss religion and politics, esp in a car.

    Based on my extensive knowledge of equine anatomy, the horse’s ass should be turned in the other direction to make the carriage go.

    Looks like a fun trip, wish I could have gone.

Leave a Reply

