Sayde’s New Orleans Trip

Hellow everyone! As SfCatty said,  I was in N A’wlins yesterday! A group of ladies from our local RWA chapter got together and spent the day walking around the French Quarter. First let me say it was a lot of fun and Paula you rock! Between you knowing so much about New Orleans and your husband on your phone filling in the blanks we found out so much wonderful information.

 

So Sayde is taking a break from writing steamy or sexy for a while. I’m focusing all my attention on editing and writing a Young Adult book. The YA takes place in N A’wlins.

Here are some of the sites we saw. I’d love to go and ride the trolley to the garden district and spend the day there. But that’s next time. 🙂

 That’s right, a horses’ ass is what I saw! Thanks to Cynthia Eden who wanted to ride the carriage so bad I got to sit up front to be the first to get poohed on!

 Marie LaVeau’s daughters’ tomb. HOWEVER, rumor has it that Marie is actually in there and her daughter somewhere else.

Marie Laveau’s tomb. Later in the day we were told that her family moved her body to another location after having the tomb vandalized. Only the family, Marie, and a select few of others know for sure. It is said the tomb and her daughter’s tomb are fake and that Marie lives on, roaming Bourbon street today.

 

Marie Laveau Voodoo shop. I **think** this was either her home at some point or the home she used to practice Voodoo in. Don’t hold me to that, I was ready to eat by this time!

 

The trip was wonderful. I learned so much and got so many wonderful tidbits to use. Now I just have to talk the hubby into going and spending the night there so I can take a haunted tour! I’d love to do that. Hmm, maybe that can be my Christmas present!

 

 

5 Responses

  1. Thanks for blogging about it, my friend. I wish I could’ve been there. I laughed when I read the part about the horse- I’m sure you’re used to such nonsense from horses. I remember one story you told me about one that always peed during the National Anthem. Sounds like it was a blast. Maybe next time I can come. Glad to see Paula was there. I miss that girl!

  2. I wish I could’ve gone! The dentist ended up keeping me longer (stupid x-rays) than I intended. Looks like fun times were had 🙂

    Next time ya’ll take a trip out there or find yourselves in the area, I promise to be there. 🙂

  3. Great pictures thanks for sharing them Glad you had such a good day. Glad to see you blogging again.

  4. Nothing like a trip to N.O. to recharge your imagination and enthusiasm for writing! Glad you guys had so much fun, and the fact that you share it through word and picture is wonderful!

  5. Thanks everyone! I had a great time and learned lots. I’ve already talked the hubby into going and staying the night. He’s not so sure but he’s game! YAY! OK, I may have to go back into lurk mode for another week or two but it’s great to hear from you all 🙂

Leave a Reply

